Machsupport Forum

Mach Discussion => General Mach Discussion => Topic started by: Quentin David Lock on December 20, 2014, 08:19:24 AM

Title: all toolpaths being magnified
Post by: Quentin David Lock on December 20, 2014, 08:19:24 AM
Hi

I am a newbie and starting with a basic set up. I am using ventric 2d cut, mach3 on a small 6040z table. I have spent a lot of time setting up as per the mauals etc but now I have turned on and loaded my toolpaths I have the following problems and cant seem to see where I  have gone wrong.

All the axis are magnified. If the maach 3 says that the spindle has moved 230mm on x axis it has actually moved 290mm. same on y axis. on z axis programmed for 9.7mm mach 3 says travelled 9.7mm but has actually travelled 11.5mm.

It is probably something basic but have got myself bogged down as to what I should be looking at. (ventric,mach3 or machine set up.

Please help ??? ??? ??? ???
Title: Re: all toolpaths being magnified
Post by: Tweakie.CNC on December 21, 2014, 06:24:57 AM
It sounds to me as though you do not have your 'steps per unit' set correctly. The Mach3 manual http://www.machsupport.com/help-learning/product-manuals/ section 5.5.1 explains the basics and section 5.5.2.3 explains the automatic procedure you can use to calibrate each axis.

Hope this helps.

Tweakie.
Title: Re: all toolpaths being magnified
Post by: Quentin David Lock on December 21, 2014, 06:37:50 AM
Thanks Tweakie

I was looking at that late last night. My set up manual that came with the machine said enter 400 steps per unit in mach 3 I will go and try the auto procedure now and see what happens.
Much appreciated.

Regards

Q