Machsupport Forum

Mach Discussion => General Mach Discussion => Topic started by: gregan on August 07, 2014, 04:24:19 PM

Title: Tangential knife problem rotating knife
Post by: gregan on August 07, 2014, 04:24:19 PM
Hi,

i'm new on this forum. I have a problem with my tangential knife. I'm using TCM-3 from ECOCAM. It works really good, but the problem is the knife rotates while the Z-axis lifts up and makes some damage to the material because it rotates in the material. It should lift the Z-axis and then rotate the knife. I'm using Aspire 4.0 from Vectric for programming. Does anyone know, how to solve my problem? It's quite annoying.

Excuse me for my bad english.

Greetings, Grega  :)
Title: Re: Tangential knife problem rotating knife
Post by: rdean on August 07, 2014, 04:50:20 PM
What do you have your "Swivel Depth" set at?

Try setting the swivel depth to a positive number above your work piece. Maybe 0.01

Ray











Title: Re: Tangential knife problem rotating knife
Post by: gregan on August 07, 2014, 04:53:41 PM
You mean the "Lift Z" function in Mach3? Yes it's set above the material :)
Title: Re: Tangential knife problem rotating knife
Post by: rdean on August 07, 2014, 07:40:08 PM
Are you using the drag knife gadget in Aspire?

Ray
Title: Re: Tangential knife problem rotating knife
Post by: Tweakie.CNC on August 08, 2014, 02:13:05 AM
Gregan,

Mach3 has a problem with tangential control - when it comes to cutting circles the blade will, under certain circumstances, rotate whilst it is in the work. The only satisfactory solution I have found to this problem with G2/G3 commands is within the CAD/CAM program (Aspire) to create lead-in's and lead-out's with exactly the same radius as the circle being cut. Blade rotation then happens during the lead-in / out and not within the work.
I am not certain if the problem exists with arc-tangent curves as I have always used G2/G3.

Hope this helps.

Tweakie.
Title: Re: Tangential knife problem rotating knife
Post by: gregan on September 25, 2014, 11:52:29 AM
Thank you for your anwser. Has anyone any other solution?