Machsupport Forum

Mach Discussion => General Mach Discussion => Topic started by: jd-rose on October 08, 2013, 01:22:47 PM

Title: Delay between lines of code
Post by: jd-rose on October 08, 2013, 01:22:47 PM
I have searched and tried everything I can to fix this problem, but I can't find a solution.  Here is my program.  Yes, I can write this all as one movement without a problem, but I will be inserting macros to turn on and off a laser, so I want to test movement first.  I am running in metric, I have all CV controls turned off, I have tried turning on one at a time and changing values without any luck.  I continually get a slight delay between each line of code which causes major problems with our laser application.  Any help is appreciated.

%
g90 g64
g01 a-25. z0. f850.
g01 a-50. z.1 f850.
g01 a-75. z.15 f850.
g01 a-100. z.2 f850.
m30
%
Title: Re: Delay between lines of code
Post by: Smokingman on October 08, 2013, 01:58:47 PM
I just posed about the same problem a few minutes ago! I think it is a CV problem, but I can't figure it out either.
Title: Re: Delay between lines of code
Post by: Fastest1 on October 08, 2013, 02:01:54 PM
Is there a dwell time setting in Mach for the relay?
Title: Re: Delay between lines of code
Post by: Fastest1 on October 08, 2013, 02:04:43 PM
If you are using the spindle control as a means to activate your laser, there is a delay setting. Spindle options in ports and pins. I dont have a laser, just a wild guess.
Title: Re: Delay between lines of code
Post by: jd-rose on October 08, 2013, 03:20:08 PM
I am not trying to activate spindle at all, in fact it isn't even active.  Btw, I am using a Geck0 g540.  To activate the laser I wrote a macro, but I am trying to get smooth rotational movement before I worry about turning the laser on and off at given points.
Title: Re: Delay between lines of code
Post by: Picengraver on October 08, 2013, 03:47:00 PM
Do you have a too slow acceleration setting?
John Champlain
Title: Re: Delay between lines of code
Post by: jd-rose on October 08, 2013, 03:51:37 PM
I've varied the acceleration to the maximum I can get, on down.  I can't have jerks in the table that the a-axis is controlling at all, let alone between lines of code.
Title: Re: Delay between lines of code
Post by: BR549 on October 08, 2013, 09:11:38 PM
The the toolpath config WHAT do you have set for rotations ?

(;-) TP
Title: Re: Delay between lines of code
Post by: jd-rose on October 09, 2013, 09:22:18 AM
I have it set as 360 degrees per rotation.
Title: Re: Delay between lines of code
Post by: BR549 on October 09, 2013, 09:28:41 AM
general config/toolpath/rotations settings ??

(;-) TP
Title: Re: Delay between lines of code
Post by: jd-rose on October 09, 2013, 11:33:46 AM
Rotational soft limits is the only one that is checked.
Title: Re: Delay between lines of code
Post by: rcaffin on October 09, 2013, 10:21:50 PM
Quote
I continually get a slight delay between each line of code which causes major problems with our laser application.  Any help is appreciated.
%
g90 g64
g01 a-25. z0. f850.
g01 a-50. z.1 f850.
g01 a-75. z.15 f850.
g01 a-100. z.2 f850.
m30
%
I do not KNOW, but I suspect that the f850 may be causing the delay. Change your program to the following and see whether it gets any better. let us know.
%
g90 g64
f850
g01 a-25. z0.
g01 a-50. z.1
g01 a-75. z.15
g01 a-100. z.2
m30
%

Cheers
Roger
Title: Re: Delay between lines of code
Post by: jd-rose on October 11, 2013, 10:18:09 AM
I tried moving the feed rate to a different line ahead of the code, and I increased the acceleration as high as I could get it before the steppers would skip steps.  This reduced the hesitation, but not completely.  To me, if the motion is to be linear, it shouldn't matter if there are a number of lines code to get from point A to point B, with look ahead, the motion should be absolutely smooth.  I can't figure out why there are these little hesitations.
Title: Re: Delay between lines of code
Post by: Fastest1 on October 11, 2013, 11:35:46 AM
How far is your look ahead?
Title: Re: Delay between lines of code
Post by: Fastest1 on October 11, 2013, 11:36:46 AM
Btw what computer? specs? OS? Have you ever had success with this combo of computer and machine? Have you followed the Mach optimization steps? Just checking everything.
Title: Re: Delay between lines of code
Post by: BR549 on October 11, 2013, 11:37:11 AM
OK 1st question do you have your A axis setup as linear or angular(polar)?


Go to "Config" then "toolpath". Top right side there is a section that says rotations, what is checked.

You should have checked

Use radius for feedrate

A- rotations enabled

Axis of rotation.

NEXT go to the setting page, top right there is a section that allows you to set the radius of the part you are working with in A axis. SET the radius value.

NOW try your code again.

IF the A is not linked to a linear axis it may not have a look ahead function NOR will the feedrates be synced as a unit. Also the radius setting allow mach3 to define the blended feedrate correctly.

ALSO after you have changed everything Shut down mach3 and restart.

Just a thought, (;-) TP