Machsupport Forum

Third party software and hardware support forums. => Newfangled Solutions Mach3 Wizards => Topic started by: RICH on April 30, 2011, 02:24:52 PM

Title: NEWFANGLED SOLUTIONS SOFTWARE - LATEST VERSION
Post by: RICH on April 30, 2011, 02:24:52 PM
This is the latest version of the software.

V2.86 fixes a bug where the material number was using the same DRO as the Xcenter value in the circular hole array wizard.
Title: Re: NEWFANGLED SOLUTIONS SOFTWARE - LATEST VERSION
Post by: Ron Ginger on June 20, 2011, 08:27:36 PM
Whenever I make a change to the NFS wizards I will place the new version here. It will be in the form of a zip file with the name Newfangled### where the ### will be the latest version number.

To install this you simply download the zip file, and un-zip it into your C:\Mach3\Addons folder.

The normal unzip will leave this with the ### Part. If you want to keep an old version around you can leave it this way, just select it from the wizard menu. More likely you will want to delete the old folder C:\Mach3\Addons\Newfangled then rename to the new one to remove the ###
Title: Re: NEWFANGLED SOLUTIONS SOFTWARE - LATEST VERSION
Post by: JimV on November 08, 2011, 04:00:20 PM
This version is vastly improved over the one I bought several years ago.  The threading now works... thanks!

One bug, however,  Threading does not seem to include feed speeds in the G-code?

I'm adding the feed speed to the G-code manually but it would be great if you could fix it sometime.

Thanks,

Jim Vogeley

Title: Re: NEWFANGLED SOLUTIONS SOFTWARE - LATEST VERSION
Post by: Ron Ginger on November 08, 2011, 04:43:08 PM
Thanks for the compliments on the improvements. I have tried to make it a better wizard.

You are right on the feed. I looked at the code quickly and see that in a couple of the conditions it adds a Feed to the first G01 move, but it never adds one to the G2 or G3.

Its going to be a problem to fix in a neat way, because all the G2 or 3 moves are inside a loop and if I add Feed it will be added to every G2 or G3 line. There  is nothing wrong with that, it just makes the code look ugly.

I am just finishing a major project in a set of Turn wizards. I'm sure after I release that I'll get a few bugs to track down. But I will get to the thread problem as soon as I can.
Title: Re: NEWFANGLED SOLUTIONS SOFTWARE - LATEST VERSION
Post by: Arms Way on November 28, 2011, 08:06:23 AM
I have a Tormach PCNC and a NewFangled license for v2.75... I down loaded the v2.86 file and copied it to my harddrive... C:\PCNC3\Addons\ ...folder. It came up as Newfangled286.  On the Mach3 screen built for Tormach.. I pulled down the Wizard Select and both Newfangled and Newfangled286 showed.  After picking Newfangled 286 the first page showed and when I clicked on 'Material Selection' there was no response...when I clicked on 'Help about materials' the dialogue box was blank... finally, pressing the 'Continue' button does nothing.  To exit the wiz I had to shut Mach3 down.

I would like to use Newfangled286 but I can't without some help......!!!

Thanks.. 
Title: Re: NEWFANGLED SOLUTIONS SOFTWARE - LATEST VERSION
Post by: Ron Ginger on November 28, 2011, 08:24:54 AM
You must delete the old folder called Newfangled, then rename the new folded to remove the 286. It must be just Newfangled. The material button looks for a material table with the path name of \Addons\Newfangled.
Title: Re: NEWFANGLED SOLUTIONS SOFTWARE - LATEST VERSION
Post by: Arms Way on November 28, 2011, 10:28:52 AM
Thanks for the info ..... we'll make it work..!
Title: Re: NEWFANGLED SOLUTIONS SOFTWARE - LATEST VERSION
Post by: BPR on December 23, 2011, 04:46:04 AM
Aloha Ron,

I recently purchased Mach3 and the NFS Wizard license. I am also fairly new to CNC, but am loving it so far. I have version 2.63 installed on my Mikini (the latest lock-down has issues with my mill), and I was wondering if the latest version of NSF Wizards (2.86) was compatible with Mach3 2.63? When I install the Newfangled folder in my addons and try to run the Wizard, I get an empty window and it crashes Mach. The release that came pre-installed with Mach3 2.63 runs fine, but I wanted to use the latest version of your Wizards. Can you tell me what I might be doing wrong?

And yes, I renamed it by deleting the 286 at the end. I restarted the machine, etc., But it still just hangs with an empty window.

Mahalo,

Paul
Blue Planet Research/ Hawaii
Title: Re: NEWFANGLED SOLUTIONS SOFTWARE - LATEST VERSION
Post by: Ron Ginger on December 23, 2011, 08:27:15 AM
I have not run mach 2.63 in a very long time, but the wizards use only the base mach screen functions, so it ought to run. I vaguely recall some screen changes with V3 of mach, but thats a long time ago. If it crashes then I guess you have determined its not compatible.

I would really figure out your issues with running the latest mach and get up to date.
Title: Re: NEWFANGLED SOLUTIONS SOFTWARE - LATEST VERSION
Post by: sagreen83 on March 19, 2012, 06:51:11 PM
I just purchased the Milling Addon License. Which addon do I use this license with?
Title: Re: NEWFANGLED SOLUTIONS SOFTWARE - LATEST VERSION
Post by: Ron Ginger on March 19, 2012, 07:29:44 PM
Choose he Newfangled title in the wizards list.

The license also works with  Nfsturn, CopyCat, and DrilWiz
Title: Re: NEWFANGLED SOLUTIONS SOFTWARE - LATEST VERSION
Post by: rickheid on March 23, 2012, 10:50:01 AM
What do I have to do to get copycat to see my license?  I get a no wizard license.  Using v2.86 and it runs fine and puts out gcode, but when I run copycat it displays no wizard license.  Thanks in advance.
Title: Re: NEWFANGLED SOLUTIONS SOFTWARE - LATEST VERSION
Post by: Ron Ginger on March 23, 2012, 11:08:00 AM
I do not see how that can happen.  The wizard just uses the IsWiz() call to mach. I cant understand it working on the Mill Addons and not CopyCat.

Will you please try the DrilWiz and see what it returns?
Title: Re: NEWFANGLED SOLUTIONS SOFTWARE - LATEST VERSION
Post by: tjstamp on May 01, 2012, 08:34:32 AM
i must be getting old but i just downloaded the 286. i have to put it on a stick so i can take it out to the shop to put it in the pc where mach is. do i unzip before i put it on the stick?
Title: Re: NEWFANGLED SOLUTIONS SOFTWARE - LATEST VERSION
Post by: Ron Ginger on May 01, 2012, 09:29:01 AM
It doesn't matter where you unzipit, as long as the files wind up in the right place on the shop system.
Title: Re: NEWFANGLED SOLUTIONS SOFTWARE - LATEST VERSION
Post by: tjstamp on May 01, 2012, 09:55:46 AM
thanks ron.
Title: Re: NEWFANGLED SOLUTIONS SOFTWARE - LATEST VERSION
Post by: tjstamp on May 02, 2012, 10:03:19 AM
well i got the 286 installed and i got the error on line 22. dont no what that means but when i closed it and reopened it all was fine. i'll keep the older versions installed just in case i have problems.
Title: Re: NEWFANGLED SOLUTIONS SOFTWARE - LATEST VERSION
Post by: Ron Ginger on May 02, 2012, 11:36:55 AM
There is a problem if you keep two versions. One must have a different folder name, like Newfangled286. This causes a problem on the setup screen because it looks for the materials file in the folder Newfangled.

It is best to just keep one version installed, and be sure its in the Newfangled folder.
Title: Re: NEWFANGLED SOLUTIONS SOFTWARE - LATEST VERSION
Post by: Stress Relief on March 03, 2013, 08:04:18 PM
I have a question about how the y axis is controlled using the nfs wizard gear cutting wizard.  I am have some trouble getting it to work properly.
thanks in advance Dave
Title: Re: NEWFANGLED SOLUTIONS SOFTWARE - LATEST VERSION
Post by: Ron Ginger on March 03, 2013, 09:47:08 PM
Gear cutting uses a subroutine called index.tap which is in the subroutines folder. The Y moves are in the subroutine.

The basic motion is to set Y to the first cut depth, advance the cutter in the X direction, then backup to the xstart position. Then the subroutine advances Y one step depth and the X move repeats. When Y has made all the steps to full cut depth the cutter is rotated one tooth and the cycle repeats.

Title: Re: NEWFANGLED SOLUTIONS SOFTWARE - LATEST VERSION
Post by: Kenneth on March 06, 2013, 01:54:22 PM
any chance to get a radius option in the rec pocket wizard?
would ask user for corner radii.
Thanks
Title: Re: NEWFANGLED SOLUTIONS SOFTWARE - LATEST VERSION
Post by: BR549 on March 06, 2013, 02:22:13 PM
IF you are asking about the NFW Wizard "Rec Pocket" it DOES have the Corner radius feature.

Just a thought, (;-) TP
Title: Re: NEWFANGLED SOLUTIONS SOFTWARE - LATEST VERSION
Post by: Kenneth on March 06, 2013, 02:32:30 PM
yes i was. but is it the purchased version or the default.
i have mach3 Version R3.043.066. and i can't see where to add a radius.
i looked in NFW Wizard "Rec Pocket" and "Pocket Cutting"
Thanks TP


or i may not be using NFW Wizard.
Title: Re: NEWFANGLED SOLUTIONS SOFTWARE - LATEST VERSION
Post by: Overloaded on March 06, 2013, 02:59:12 PM
There are 2 pocket wiz's in the free suite w/no corner rad. option.
You must not be referring to NFS.
Title: Re: NEWFANGLED SOLUTIONS SOFTWARE - LATEST VERSION
Post by: Kenneth on March 06, 2013, 03:04:40 PM
that must be it.
Thanks Overloaded
Title: Re: NEWFANGLED SOLUTIONS SOFTWARE - LATEST VERSION
Post by: picks27t on May 11, 2013, 03:30:58 PM
Can not get to bottom half of screen resolution is 1024x768 any help from anyone?
Thanks
Title: Re: NEWFANGLED SOLUTIONS SOFTWARE - LATEST VERSION
Post by: Kenneth on May 11, 2013, 04:22:35 PM
you should check to see if the background image is blurred also.
and in general settings put a check at "auto enlarge"
Title: Re: NEWFANGLED SOLUTIONS SOFTWARE - LATEST VERSION
Post by: picks27t on May 11, 2013, 04:51:59 PM
Could you tell me were to find Auto enlarge
Thank you a lot of this is new to me
Title: Re: NEWFANGLED SOLUTIONS SOFTWARE - LATEST VERSION
Post by: Ron Ginger on May 11, 2013, 06:24:39 PM
On the top menu bar, under the Config item there is a general config screen. Its got a  lot of settings on it, down near the bottom just to the right of center is the auto screen enlarge
Title: Re: NEWFANGLED SOLUTIONS SOFTWARE - LATEST VERSION
Post by: picks27t on May 12, 2013, 10:18:28 AM
Thank you Men i now have a full screen
Title: Re: NEWFANGLED SOLUTIONS SOFTWARE - LATEST VERSION
Post by: EtheAv8r on January 04, 2014, 01:04:40 PM
Is V2.86 still the latest version?  
If so what is Newfangled Mill Wizard is it a different product?  I have purchased the Newfangled add-ons licence (WinLic.dat) and am using the Newfangled wizards most of all.  Should I install the new installer MillWizard_Installer_Version_1.0.13 or is this something entirely different (i.e. is it for Mach4 only)?  I am running Mach3 on a SIEG KX3.
Title: Re: NEWFANGLED SOLUTIONS SOFTWARE - LATEST VERSION
Post by: Ron Ginger on January 04, 2014, 01:52:24 PM
There are two sets of wizards.The Newfangled Addons are only for Mach3, they use the VB and screen design features. V2.86 is the latest.

The Newfangled Wizard for Mill is a new product that will be used with Mach4, but it is written in C++ and is a fully standalone program, you can run it on any windows PC.

The Addons are simplest to use if you are running Mach3, they are integrated into the package and just a couple4 clicks gets your code ready to run. The New Wizard has a few things the old one didnt, like engraving and some pocketing code. We are working on several new features for the Mill Wizard, so someday it will be a much better wizard.
Title: Re: NEWFANGLED SOLUTIONS SOFTWARE - LATEST VERSION
Post by: EtheAv8r on January 05, 2014, 03:47:49 AM
Thank you.  I must stick with Mach3 for my mill, in fact the SIEG support requires that we use version 3.041 and not upgrade from that. 
Title: Re: NEWFANGLED SOLUTIONS SOFTWARE - LATEST VERSION
Post by: Vasyl85 on March 27, 2020, 04:20:11 PM
Hello support team,
I downloaded MillWizard and tried it out in Metric system. I found a bug in drilling. It seams like metric units are chosen, but it keep counting imperial units.
I've added a screenshot. Milling range is 100x100mm, drilling holes are by coords in square 90x90mm. Depth set to 1mm. As you can see from the screen, depth is closer to 25mm (1").
Title: Re: NEWFANGLED SOLUTIONS SOFTWARE - LATEST VERSION
Post by: Filou on June 19, 2020, 09:09:36 AM
Pretty old thread, but my observation / issue seems to be topical.
With Mach3, I run my original NFS wizards without problems.

When I run CopyCat, I can follow a path and generate a series of points; G-code gets loaded in Mach3 and can be executed.

However, if I attempt to EDIT this code, Mach3 opens the Note editor with an empty file, claiming that the file created by CopyCat could not be found.  An EDIT attempt from within CopyCat triggers the same behavior.

From Win7, I can navigate to the folder in which CopyCat and other scripts write their files. Interestingly, the file I'm looking for is not VISIBLE by Windows, but is displayed if looked after by Mach3 (with a locker symbol),  and it can indeed be re-loaded.

The true issue is that I don't seem to be able to edit this file.

So I wonder if I have a license to use the scripts ? How can I be sure ? I do not remember at the time of purchase if the Wizards were included in my PO or not.

Unless, there is an attribute of that folder that needs to be changed at the system level; I checked that System, Admin, Users all have full credentials for this particular folder. Only the Owner has no credentials, and when I try to change them using my ADMIN rights nothing changes, i.e. the new credentials are not granted.

Grateful for any comment you may provide, enjoy the rest of the week. 



Title: Re: NEWFANGLED SOLUTIONS SOFTWARE - LATEST VERSION
Post by: Tweakie.CNC on June 19, 2020, 10:09:20 AM
Although I don't use them I think all the Newfangled Solutions wizards, including Copy Cat, require the additional license. Perhaps check you Mach3 folder for 'WinLic.dat' if it is there then you have the license.

Tweakie.
Title: Re: NEWFANGLED SOLUTIONS SOFTWARE - LATEST VERSION
Post by: Filou on June 21, 2020, 11:27:57 AM
Howdy,

Thank you. Indeed, I do not have any other license file as the one needed to run Mach3. Thus, if your assumption is correct, the wizard’s files are « made invisible » by Mach3, even though I can use them, one at the time, but not modify them.

The copy job I must finish is not so immense and I did it the « old fashion » way. Jog, human read, human write in a file, jog, repeat as many times as needed. Done.

Enjoy the rest of your WE, Philippe