Machsupport Forum

Mach Discussion => General Mach Discussion => Topic started by: Johnny Storm on February 23, 2011, 04:10:58 PM

Title: Oxy Fuel preheat time in Mach3
Post by: Johnny Storm on February 23, 2011, 04:10:58 PM
Hi, I have a home made oxy fuel cutting cnc machine 5ft x 10ft, i have made several test cuts and seems to work well, but I have a little problem with the preheat.

I´m draw in Autocad, then i put the DXF file in ProNest and there generate the G-Code for Mach3, ok all fine but but i no have idea how set the preheat dely time before the machine start the cut.

For the moment y try with this: I modify the file C:\Mach3\macros\plasma\m4.m1s

Sleep 25000 (this example is for a delay of 25 seconds)
activateSignal(OUTPUT1) (this activate the selenoid to open the oxigen)
Sleep 1000 (I use this time for the initail penetracion before machine moves)

This method works for me, but i don't like!!!, anybody know a better method? or a screenset with a DRO to put that time in seconds or someting like that?

sorry for my bad english, tanks

this is my machine and a sample cuts in .250 inch
Title: Re: Oxy Fuel preheat time in Mach3
Post by: Hood on February 23, 2011, 04:45:29 PM
You could have a user DRO (or several) on the screen and have your M4 macro look to it for its value.
Hood
Title: Re: Oxy Fuel preheat time in Mach3
Post by: Johnny Storm on February 23, 2011, 04:50:19 PM
You could have a user DRO (or several) on the screen and have your M4 macro look to it for its value.
Hood

thanks Hood, you can tell me the script can use for do that?
Title: Re: Oxy Fuel preheat time in Mach3
Post by: Hood on February 23, 2011, 04:59:34 PM
Not great at VB but something like this MIGHT WORK

DRO1 = GetUserDRO(2222)
DRO2 = GetUserDRO(2223)

Sleep (DRO1)
activateSignal(OUTPUT1)
Sleep (DRO2)


Hood



Title: Re: Oxy Fuel preheat time in Mach3
Post by: rrc1962 on February 23, 2011, 06:45:19 PM
The G code for a dwell is "G4 P1".  1 being the number of seconds to delay.  If Mach is set to dwell in milliseconds, you would use 1000 to represent 1 second.  You could have your CAM drop the G4 in the program or have your CAM insert a macro.  A macro might look something like this...DRO1234 would be a user DRO where you enter the dwell time.

code "G4 P" & getUserDRO(1234)

You could use the same code inside the M3 macro, but I prefer having it separate.
Title: Re: Oxy Fuel preheat time in Mach3
Post by: Johnny Storm on February 23, 2011, 06:52:50 PM
Not great at VB but something like this MIGHT WORK

DRO1 = GetUserDRO(2222)
DRO2 = GetUserDRO(2223)

Sleep (DRO1)
activateSignal(OUTPUT1)
Sleep (DRO2)


Hood





Thanks Hood you are my hero!! works perfect,
Title: Re: Oxy Fuel preheat time in Mach3
Post by: Johnny Storm on February 23, 2011, 06:53:58 PM
The G code for a dwell is "G4 P1".  1 being the number of seconds to delay.  If Mach is set to dwell in milliseconds, you would use 1000 to represent 1 second.  You could have your CAM drop the G4 in the program or have your CAM insert a macro.  A macro might look something like this...DRO1234 would be a user DRO where you enter the dwell time.

code "G4 P" & getUserDRO(1234)

You could use the same code inside the M3 macro, but I prefer having it separate.

Thanks rrc1962 it's a great solution too
Title: Re: Oxy Fuel preheat time in Mach3
Post by: Hood on February 23, 2011, 07:21:36 PM
Ha ha well I am amased VB that IO wrote works first attempt ;D
Hood
Title: Re: Oxy Fuel preheat time in Mach3
Post by: Hood on February 23, 2011, 08:20:59 PM
oops clumsy fingers, must have hit the I and O key at the same time, should have just been I.
Hood
Title: Re: Oxy Fuel preheat time in Mach3
Post by: behzad777 on February 12, 2013, 07:40:38 AM
hi all i am behzad
i really don't understand exactly what to do for preheat time in OXY cutting
is there any screen set for OXY cutting table ?
i think that art soft should care more about that very wide usage
thanks
Title: Re: Oxy Fuel preheat time in Mach3
Post by: BR549 on February 12, 2013, 12:37:06 PM
Preheat is NORMALLY done in the G code side and is handled by the CAM package.

(;-)TP
Title: Re: Oxy Fuel preheat time in Mach3
Post by: wakedabed on March 25, 2015, 04:39:00 AM
You can use one DRO and make one equation between the pierce delay and time to wait preheat! It's more usefull ;)
Title: Re: Oxy Fuel preheat time in Mach3
Post by: wakedabed on March 31, 2015, 12:33:24 PM
No man, you can make on main screen var input with 4 digitals for ex, and there before start cut, enter the thickness of material that you want to cut, and on the macro code make an equation to determine how much time it's take to be ready to cut ;)

Best regards!