Machsupport Forum

Third party software and hardware support forums. => Galil => Topic started by: boblandon on July 27, 2010, 05:40:29 AM

Title: Z axis to digital output
Post by: boblandon on July 27, 2010, 05:40:29 AM
Hello

I have question about possibility to use 2 axis galil dmc-1822 card for switching on/off third axis (Z).

I have simple g-code generator (from .dxf). There are Z-axis movements described as "G0 Z1.0" as head up and "G0 Z0.0" as head down.
Like:
....
G0 Z1.5
G0 X6.0 Y5.0
G1 F30.0 Z0.0
G1 F2000.0 X18.0
G1 Y17.0
G1 X6.0
G1 Y5.0
G0 Z1.5
G0 X11.0 Y6.0
....
If I use galil card 1822 and galil plugin for mach3, then I can't set z-axis as third usable axis (or can I?). I'll get some errors and z-axis values in mach3 DRO's don’t change in any directions.

Is there some way to use g-code generated z-axis movements for describing digital output behavior, if I don’t actually have z-axis?

Or can I read somehow g-code commands and write, lets say a macropump for that (reading z-axis values and writing macropump from that aint problem, but i my case z-axis doesnt have usable value) ?
Title: Re: Z axis to digital output
Post by: smurph on July 30, 2010, 01:58:02 AM
I'm working on this now.  I'll post up when it's done.
Title: Re: Z axis to digital output
Post by: jorber on September 30, 2010, 08:26:41 AM
I'm working on this now.  I'll post up when it's done.
I am interested in this also, have you done with it? :)
Title: Re: Z axis to digital output
Post by: smurph on September 30, 2010, 04:03:41 PM
The easiest way to handle it is to put a couple of macros in the desired profile's macro directory.  The macros should me named ZUP_2D.m1s and ZDN_2D.m1s.

Inside the macros, use the VB subroutines ActivateSignal(OUTPUT1) and DeActivateSignal(OUTPUT1).  Substitute your desired output for OUTPUT1.

Steve