Machsupport Forum

Third party software and hardware support forums. => PoKeys => Topic started by: wuselrob on March 23, 2010, 03:52:20 PM

Title: How to display DRO's on LCD with Pokeys55
Post by: wuselrob on March 23, 2010, 03:52:20 PM
Hello everybody,

I bought a Pokeys55 for building up a pendant.
The LCD works very well with the Pokeys-Software, but now I was searching how to get the LCD running with Mach3 but I didn't find anything helpful for Newbies like me.

It is a 4x20 LCD and I want to display the DRO-Values for X,Y,Z and A (Maybe later I can display Spindle Speed and Feedrate as well?).
Can somebody give me a hint, how to do this with a VB macro? I read something about Userlabels.
How do I get the DRO-Values in these Userlabels so I can display them?

I've never written VB macros before.

Thank you so much in advance and sorry for my English :)
Greetings,
Robert (Germany)
Title: Re: How to display DRO's on LCD with Pokeys55
Post by: borisz on March 23, 2010, 04:33:09 PM
Hi!

Did you checked PoKeys plugin for Mach which can be downloaded from www.poscope.com?
It has direct LCD support without programing..

regards

Boris
Title: Re: How to display DRO's on LCD with Pokeys55
Post by: wuselrob on March 23, 2010, 04:46:09 PM
Hi Boris,

yes, I mean this plugin.
But I don't find out how to get my DRO Values on my LCD. Is there a How2 anywhere?

Regards,
Robert
Title: Re: How to display DRO's on LCD with Pokeys55
Post by: borisz on March 23, 2010, 05:48:08 PM
OH, I have unreleased beta.
Will ask Scott if he is close to release.

regards

Boris
Title: Re: How to display DRO's on LCD with Pokeys55
Post by: poppabear on March 24, 2010, 04:28:51 AM
the current pokeys 7.4 that is on boris/s site, is LCD capable, please see the HELP button on the plugin dialog.

also, you will need to choose what labels to use for your DRO display, then send your DRO code to them via VB, see Wiki on how to use VB.

scott
Title: Re: How to display DRO's on LCD with Pokeys55
Post by: wuselrob on March 24, 2010, 06:26:51 AM
Hi,

Okay, thanks. So there is no easy way to do this without studying VB. I will try my best.

@Boris
Does the Plugin work only with LCD on the first pin configuration (23-26 and 28-30) ?
You mailed me, that I probably have found a bug in the latest pokeys firmware, so Pins 23-26 aren't working for LCD right now.
Do you know when this problem can be solved and when an update will be released?

Thank you,
regards,
Robert
Title: Re: How to display DRO's on LCD with Pokeys55
Post by: borisz on March 24, 2010, 06:37:02 AM
LCD2 is working now. LCD1 should be solved in about 2-3 weeks.

regards

Boris
Title: Re: How to display DRO's on LCD with Pokeys55
Post by: wuselrob on March 24, 2010, 03:10:14 PM
LCD2 is working now

Hi Boris,

you mean the Mach3 Pokeys Plugin? Is there an update that works with LCD2 as well?
In the 7.5 version from poscope.com the label in the config dialog says: "Use LCD Display (Pins 23-26, 28-30 used by LCD)"

What I made so far in the Pokeys Plugin config dialog:

(http://www.wuselrob.de/bilder/pokeysplugin1.jpg)

And then I activated Macropump and made a file called macropump.m1s where I put this in:

(http://www.wuselrob.de/bilder/pokeysplugin2.jpg)

So, the DRO values should be permanentally formatted and written into the userlabels, right?

But my LCD2 (pins 28-30, 31-34) displays nothing.
Shall I wait for the bugfix?

Thank you.
regards,
Robert
Title: Re: How to display DRO's on LCD with Pokeys55
Post by: borisz on March 24, 2010, 04:31:41 PM
Please wait for bugfix. Also plugin with LCD2 support should be released soon.

regards

Boris
Title: Re: How to display DRO's on LCD with Pokeys55
Post by: eloid on April 16, 2010, 11:39:46 PM
any updates for this?

Please wait for bugfix. Also plugin with LCD2 support should be released soon.

regards

Boris
Title: Re: How to display DRO's on LCD with Pokeys55
Post by: borisz on April 17, 2010, 01:58:47 AM
Yes, please download latest software and beta plugin from www.poscope.com
regards

Boris
Title: Re: How to display DRO's on LCD with Pokeys55
Post by: germil on February 18, 2011, 07:00:55 AM
Do you get the DRO values to lcd with this procedure?
Is that complete VB script?
(http://www.wuselrob.de/bilder/pokeysplugin2.jpg)

Is it possible to get some another dat  to lcd 4x20 like that

xx,xx0 position;     remain xx,xx0;
yy,yyy position;     remain yy,yyy;
zz,zzz position;      remain zz,zzz;
aa,aaa position;     remain aa,aaa;
or

xx,xx1 position;     X,Y,Z or A  
yy,yyy position;     X1, X10, X100
zz,zzz  position;     XX.000 SPINDLE SPEED
aa,aaa position;     ESTOP/OK

Can you give me an exsample of VB code to do that?

Thank you.
regards,
Milan
Title: Re: How to display DRO's on LCD with Pokeys55
Post by: germil on February 18, 2011, 04:47:47 PM
I get it work!!!! ;D

Please tell me if it is possible to get some other (multiple) data  to lcd 4x20 like that:
  ________________________________
  I
  I   xx,xx0 position;     remain xx,xx0;      
  I   yy,yyy position;     remain yy,yyy;      
  I   zz,zzz position;      remain zz,zzz;        
  I   aa,aaa position;     remain aa,aaa;      
  I_______________________________
or

xx,xx1 position;     X,Y,Z or A  
yy,yyy position;     X1, X10, X100
zz,zzz  position;     XX.000 SPINDLE SPEED
aa,aaa position;     ESTOP/OK

Can you give me an exsample of VB code to do that?

Thank you.
regards,
Milan
Title: Re: How to display DRO's on LCD with Pokeys55
Post by: blackdebian on December 05, 2011, 09:56:42 AM
hello, wanted help installing the LCD 20 * 4!
it's all connected as they say already tested it and it works .... pokeys This pins 23-26 and 28-30.

I have the latest plugin.

But when you start Mach3 it turns the LEDs. I can control the contrast and light. two lines appear to complete the first and fourth line. But it never gets any data appearing on the screen.

I would appreciate some help.
Title: Re: How to display DRO's on LCD with Pokeys55
Post by: germil on December 06, 2011, 01:47:52 AM
Did you enable macropump?
What is your macropump like?
I can send you test macropump, but now iam on work,
But the files i have at home.
Title: Re: How to display DRO's on LCD with Pokeys55
Post by: blackdebian on December 10, 2011, 08:30:52 AM
Hello I've got to get the lcd to work, but now everything was working well the lcd and now update the coordinates not updated.

I macropump in the following code:
SetUserLabel (101, "X" & Format (GetDRO (0), "+0000, -0000"))
SetUserLabel (102, "Y" & Format (GetDRO (1), "+0000, -0000"))
SetUserLabel (103, "Z" & Format (GetDRO (2), "+0000, -0000"))
SetUserLabel (104, "A" & Format (GetDRO (3), "+0000, -0000"))

as seen here in the forum

I've been trying to make another code to make better use of the lcd but noticed after k was not updating the lcd ... and became as it was only by the coordinates of the axes, as in this code.

But now I have to update the code to go to the vb script k and k run time so I click the Run button and it updates ..... otherwise only shows if the data right from the beginning .... k will be inadvertently blocked the vb without believing? I need help for this topic do not know what to do ... already put a loop to execute me forever but the error in the script ....