Machsupport Forum

Mach Discussion => General Mach Discussion => Topic started by: bevins on February 22, 2010, 03:52:39 PM

Title: Start from specific line within gcode
Post by: bevins on February 22, 2010, 03:52:39 PM
Hi all,

I have a 949,238 line gcode file. I want to start from line 894028. First oif all, it takes forever to get to it via mouse. Is there an easier way? I put in the line number and hit run from here and it goes to ;line N529560 and the LINE  field shows 264730.

How can I simply start the machine from a certain line? I have a piece of stock on the table and I cannot shutdown the machine until I run this or else I will lose the piece.

Thanks,
Title: Re: Start from specific line within gcode
Post by: bevins on February 22, 2010, 03:54:38 PM
I did hit cycle start for pre move and it showed moving to a completely different section and didn't show the correct line.
Title: Re: Start from specific line within gcode
Post by: Overloaded on February 22, 2010, 03:59:59 PM
Cant you click and drag the slider in the code window ?
Dont have any files THAT big but can shoot end to end with the slider in a zip.
Double click on the code window to see the line #'s.
If you numbered by 5"s or such , dont think it will be right in the dro.
Just get to the line you want an use run from here.
RC
Title: Re: Start from specific line within gcode
Post by: bevins on February 22, 2010, 04:02:27 PM
I tried that. With that many lines of code, the mouse jumps 10's of thou of lines at a time.

Run from here does a premove and it is nowhere near where it is suppose to cut.

Title: Re: Start from specific line within gcode
Post by: Overloaded on February 22, 2010, 04:12:58 PM
double check your line # that you want to go to.
They are different because regardless of how you cam or whatever numbers the lines, Mach renumbers the as 1 per line.
If you double click the window, do you see the Mach line #'s on the left ?
Put that # in the dro, hit enter and it will go there.
Try it,
RC
Title: Re: Start from specific line within gcode
Post by: bevins on February 22, 2010, 04:18:07 PM
I have a piece on the table. I will try it after, I just want to get this cut.

So it won't be the same line number? Mach runs through a bunch of lines up to 25k something and stops. I want line 894208. Are you saying it will work?
Title: Re: Start from specific line within gcode
Post by: Overloaded on February 22, 2010, 04:28:33 PM
OK. Here is a little file...0nly 37000 lines.
Cam numbered the lines by increment of 5.
Double click the screen,
Look at the LEFT how Mach numbers the lines.
Put YOUR line # in the dro..hit enter.Look at MACHS # for that line.
Scroll to YOUR CAM generated line, use Machs line number to the left.
 

EDIT: Repaired slight mistake...RC
Title: Re: Start from specific line within gcode
Post by: Overloaded on February 22, 2010, 04:34:37 PM
Like I said, never seen a file that big before.
But Mach can run up to 10 million lines of code so I assume it can count that high. lol
RC
Title: Re: Start from specific line within gcode
Post by: bevins on February 22, 2010, 04:37:34 PM
hmmm. I will try that. This is B.S. Mach3 needs a goto line . Takes me ten minutes of holding the arrow key to get there.
Title: Re: Start from specific line within gcode
Post by: bevins on February 22, 2010, 04:42:51 PM
Thanks, that worked.
Title: Re: Start from specific line within gcode
Post by: Overloaded on February 22, 2010, 04:46:37 PM
Cool 8)

Just playing around here.
Cam # by 5.
1.85 million CAM lines, 370K Mach lines...no prob.
RC
Title: Re: Start from specific line within gcode
Post by: bevins on February 22, 2010, 04:53:38 PM
How many lines can you get with mouse? I got it down to 6,000 with the smallest mouse movement. Try going 6,000 with the cursor.
Title: Re: Start from specific line within gcode
Post by: Overloaded on February 22, 2010, 05:04:05 PM
about 2000..but that would be 5 or 6k if my file was as big as yours.

 Are you whatching the highlighted tool path  to see where you are relative to the part ? Might help you to get close to where you want to be.

RC