Machsupport Forum

G-Code, CAD, and CAM => G-Code, CAD, and CAM discussions => Topic started by: clachan on September 05, 2006, 03:11:15 AM

Title: g-code verifying
Post by: clachan on September 05, 2006, 03:11:15 AM
There are plenty G-code verifying software packages around, and I was offered one to try out. Will I have any benefits using one before loading into Mach 3.
I am rather new to CNC, just complotted converting of Dyna 2800 and trying to establish what other programmes I need to help me to run my mill with Much 3. I can write basic G-codes and cut simple shapes.
Thank you
Title: Re: g-code verifying
Post by: Brian Barker on September 05, 2006, 06:59:35 AM
I use the tool path window to verify my program...  The verify programs are used on the large CNC mills that you can't see the tool path on :) But if you like to use it be my guest, we, all like to run the programs our own way.
Title: Re: g-code verifying
Post by: clachan on September 05, 2006, 09:25:11 AM
This is what I do at the moment when using Mach 3 mill. As I am new to CNC, I find it difficult to follow lines on the tool path window, becouse I don't know where the part (work, or whatever it is properly called) I am cutting from is. It looks better in Mach3 turning, but I suppose I’ll get used to it.
G-verifying is out of question just now, got a price 20 minutes ago - $800, can’t justify for retrofitted mill and occasional work.
After I got the price I realised that those lines in tool path window are actually not that bad.
Title: Re: g-code verifying
Post by: Brian Barker on September 05, 2006, 08:49:43 PM
The 3d graphic's in mill take  more CPU :( If it was a bit less we could show 3d solids on the screen!
Title: Re: g-code verifying
Post by: chad on September 06, 2006, 01:19:23 AM
Could this feature be added to a g-100 setup? Or does position communications (to the g-rex) take too much horse power to allow that?

Just curious.

Chad

Title: Re: g-code verifying
Post by: Brian Barker on September 06, 2006, 07:36:37 AM
Chad you are to smart and I don't think I can talk to you any more ;)

yes you are right in that it could be done in G100 mode... the problem then is to get it to render nice at high speed...

Darn smart people knowing what is going on :)


Title: Re: g-code verifying
Post by: clachan on September 06, 2006, 09:49:28 AM
Are there any plug in for Mach 3 that can be used to verify G-codes , just to see mill cutter removing material line by line in 3D; for kind of beginner it is just reassuring to see simulation made on a material before running it live.
Title: Re: g-code verifying
Post by: chad on September 06, 2006, 12:44:26 PM
Brian. LOL

As for rendering smooth. Hardware,Hardware,Hardware. I have a ATI x1600 pro with 512mb of video ram. It is capable of billions of something and trillions of something else per second ( how is that for being smart ? ;) ).
I am guessing that the tool path display is a software opengl implementation, if this was offloaded to a graphics card then mach would have a lot less to worry about. On the flip side this opens a HUGE can of worms. You now would have to be able to program every conceivable tool in mach. From fly cutters to ball end mills, so the rendered solid would cut like a actual part. Mach would also have to now care about the stock.

As much as i would like to see this in mach i think the better place for this (down the road) is in l-cam.

Chad
   
Title: Re: g-code verifying
Post by: ger21 on September 06, 2006, 02:41:46 PM
Are there any plug in for Mach 3 that can be used to verify G-codes , just to see mill cutter removing material line by line in 3D; for kind of beginner it is just reassuring to see simulation made on a material before running it live.

Not a plugin, but http://www.cutviewer.com

You can get it as a package deal with MeshCAm for a decent price. www.meshcam.com
Title: Re: g-code verifying
Post by: clachan on September 06, 2006, 03:28:50 PM
Than you Ger
Downloading catviewer demo just now, looks very goos.
Title: Re: g-code verifying
Post by: coolfox on July 25, 2007, 05:09:49 PM
Hi
Can Please someone help to newbee in g code scripting with advise how I can programm A axis swivle +30 degree and -30 degree from 0 I need to have it from 0 as it is the only way position tool on the right spot. Pleese
And would be good if someone know a soft to veryfy G code for rotary axis.
I'm using Mach2
Have tryed Mash3 but have a problem with fast movements they seems to freeze on the middle and then go again have some one same problem?
Title: Re: g-code verifying
Post by: Graham Waterworth on August 04, 2007, 02:20:52 PM
Here is a bit of code that will datum the a axis at what ever point it is at and then move the A axis from 0 to 30 degrees back to 0 and then 30 degrees the other way.

G92 A0 (datum a at this point)
G00 G90 Z0 (rapid to z0)
G01 A30. F100. (feed to 30 degrees)
G00 Z1. (rapid z clear)
A0 (rapid a to 0)
Z0 (rapid z to 0)
G01 A-30. (feed a to -30 degrees)
G00 Z1. (rapid z clear)
M30 (end program)

Graham.