Machsupport Forum

G-Code, CAD, and CAM => G-Code, CAD, and CAM discussions => Topic started by: mikeyz3385 on September 12, 2009, 06:11:28 PM

Title: Having some trouble with programming, please help
Post by: mikeyz3385 on September 12, 2009, 06:11:28 PM
 ive recently converted my mini lathe to a cnc using  a stepper motor kit from stepperworld.com . My main software is mach 3. Im used to programming with fanuc controls at my work and i wrote a simple turning canned cycle and mach 3 wont read it at all. Now i have used the wizards but they really dont seem to work that great as i thought. I would be able to do everything so much easier with the programming im used to. Anything i can do? Here is a sample program if that helps anyone,

G96 S500 M03 (TURN)
T101
G0 X1.0 Z.5
G71 U.010 R.02
G71 P300 Q400 U.008 W.005 F8.0
N300 G0 X0
X.875
G1 Z-.375
N400 X1.01
S800
G70 P300 Q400 F6.0 (FINISH CUT)
G0 X1.5 Z2.0
Title: Re: Having some trouble with programming, please help
Post by: vmax549 on September 12, 2009, 06:34:17 PM
Looks like you have run into Fanuc codes/parameters that are not supported by mach. Can you describe what you need to be doing in the code.

Might pay to download the Mach turn manual as a reference.

Just a thought, (;-) TP
Title: Re: Having some trouble with programming, please help
Post by: mikeyz3385 on September 12, 2009, 10:08:18 PM
The program i have written is to turn a piece of stock from 1 inch to 7/8 using a series of passes at .010 per cut. I can write it out manual by writing every x and z move but at only .010 per pass , that is alot of lines. I checked in the manual and found their g-codes but i couldnt seem to get them to work as well. Even when i used the wizard to turn an OD down it would post the program telling every step written out using no canned cycle.
Title: Re: Having some trouble with programming, please help
Post by: RICH on September 13, 2009, 12:07:39 AM
Here is something off the wall   ???   ???  so to speak that you may want to try fooling with:

N10 G0 X1.0
N20 F40
N30 G76 X.875 Z-1 P.001 J .030 H.030 I 30 C.1 B.001
N40 M30

What i am doing is tricking the thread cycle such that the pitch is very fine but the cut depth is what ever i want. (the
program dosen't know what you tool radius is )
It then does the passes down to the diameter wanted. Set your x axis location at 1.0. when the code is read by Mach it will generate all the paths. Not a canned cycle, but it just may be a shortcut.

RICH
BTW, NEVER ACTUALY CUT SOMETHING WITH IT, BUT HAVE DRY RUN IT!
Title: Re: Having some trouble with programming, please help
Post by: Graham Waterworth on September 13, 2009, 04:50:38 AM
HI,

G70/71 are not supported in Mach3, if you search the forum you will find some 3rd party code that will emulate the functions, Mach3 has no real memory limit like a Fanuc control so using LazyCAM or any other Cam system to produce huge g-code files is not a problem.

Follow this link for the files :- http://www.machsupport.com/forum/index.php/topic,9529.msg67485.html#msg67485

Graham