Machsupport Forum

Mach Discussion => General Mach Discussion => Topic started by: Richard905 on May 31, 2009, 10:18:45 AM

Title: How to select PLC? D0-05 series of Koyo PLC
Post by: Richard905 on May 31, 2009, 10:18:45 AM
Hi, All:

I'm mechanical person with very limited PLC knowledge, will buy a mini PLC from Automationdirect.com, which will be used for my mini-CNC mill controls (such as Workholding, Cooling Pump, Tooling Indexer, etc.), I don't know which one of following two is better for me.

D0-05DD   8 DC IN / 6 DC OUT MICRO PLC W/AC P/S    
D0-05DR   8 DC IN / 6 RELAY OUT MICRO PLC W/AC P/S    

Could somebody give me suggestion?
Thanks.!

Richard
Title: Re: How to select PLC? D0-05 series of Koyo PLC
Post by: Hood on May 31, 2009, 10:43:15 AM
relay out would probably be best, might be better with the 06 though as if I recall the 05 doesnt have modbus.
Hood
Title: Re: How to select PLC? D0-05 series of Koyo PLC
Post by: Hood on May 31, 2009, 11:14:58 AM
Just looked and the D0-05DR is $99 and a module for Modbus is $129, the D0-06DR is $229 so same price but you have more I/O and can expand in the future if needed.
Hood
Title: Re: How to select PLC? D0-05 series of Koyo PLC
Post by: fer_mayrl on June 01, 2009, 06:39:10 PM
Hood,
The D05 does have Modbus, i believe it has an RJ12 plug, you can make a cable to RS232 and have serial modbus.
Fernando
Title: Re: How to select PLC? D0-05 series of Koyo PLC
Post by: poppabear on June 02, 2009, 09:05:08 AM
Yes, you can use mobbus in a 05.

You will HAVE to use Port 2, as its com parameters are programable to match Machs modbus.
the Port 1 is NOT changeable and you cant talk to mach with it.

you will need a "Port 2" cable. (It covers the 05,06,205)

scott
Title: Re: How to select PLC? D0-05 series of Koyo PLC
Post by: Hood on June 03, 2009, 03:02:41 AM
Sorry my mistake :( now I just have to remember the reason I went with an 06 rather than the 05, maybe it was just it could not be expanded by much ?

Hood
Title: Re: How to select PLC? D0-05 series of Koyo PLC
Post by: poppabear on June 03, 2009, 11:52:49 AM
yea, probably, the 05 only has 8 in 6 out, and ONE module slot.

06 has 20 in, 16 out, and 4 module slots.......

scott
Title: Re: How to select PLC? D0-05 series of Koyo PLC
Post by: Richard905 on June 13, 2009, 01:53:09 PM
Thanks for all the information.

I will buy a PLC D0-05DR, is PROGRAMMING CABLE incuded in the price $99.0? if not, The Cable is almost same price as PLC.


Title: Re: How to select PLC? D0-05 series of Koyo PLC
Post by: fer_mayrl on June 13, 2009, 02:00:48 PM
no the cable is not included, nor is the programming software.

I dont know if there is a free trial version of the software for download,
you can look in the manuals and there is a cable diagram, so you can make your own.


Regards
Fernando
Title: Re: How to select PLC? D0-05 series of Koyo PLC
Post by: Hood on June 13, 2009, 04:06:12 PM
There is a free version of the programming software, it is restricted to 100 words (If I remember correctly) which will probably be fine for an 05 with a basic ladder.
Hood