Machsupport Forum

Mach Discussion => General Mach Discussion => Topic started by: quilt-ez on May 26, 2006, 03:15:14 PM

Title: Z axis on/off
Post by: quilt-ez on May 26, 2006, 03:15:14 PM
I am a new Mach3 user trying to figure out how to make this program work.  I've got my X-Y axis working on my router.  I can turn the spindle on and off.  I am running into a problem though, with the Z axis.  The Z on this new router is an air cylinder so it is either on or off, but my G-code is coming from being run on a 3 axis CNC (G0 Z.060).  How can I get Z to "turn on" when Z plunges and "turn off" when it retracts.  All Z Values in the code are either .060 deep or 0 (Reason why I can fix Z depth on this new router).  Any thoughts would be appreciated!  Roger
Title: Re: Z axis on/off
Post by: Brian Barker on May 26, 2006, 04:22:37 PM
This can be done a few ways.. We could have the Macropump look at the Zvalue and IF it is Negitive will push the Zdown and if it is positive it will pick it up.


Is that what you are looking for?
Title: Re: Z axis on/off
Post by: quilt-ez on May 26, 2006, 04:25:18 PM
Exactly. That would be perfect....How do I do that?? Thanks.  Roger
Title: Re: Z axis on/off
Post by: Brian Barker on May 26, 2006, 04:41:11 PM
Put code in the MacroPump.m1s like this:

if(GetDRO(2 < 0.0 ) Then
   ActivateSignal(Output1)
else
  Deactivatesignal(Output1)
end if

There is a Wiki on the support page telling how to do a Macro pump under the Modio.. Hope that helps
Brian
Title: Re: Z axis on/off
Post by: quilt-ez on May 26, 2006, 04:47:23 PM
Thanks.  I'll give it a try.  Roger
Title: Re: Z axis on/off
Post by: Bengt on July 14, 2006, 05:40:59 PM

There is a Wiki on the support page telling how to do a Macro pump under the Modio.. Hope that helps
Brian

Can you point me to this page as I cannot find it, thanks

Cheers
Bengt
Title: Re: Z axis on/off
Post by: Brian Barker on July 14, 2006, 10:04:53 PM
Here it is


http://www.machsupport.com/MachCustomizeWiki/index.php?title=Axis_DROs_and_other_info._on_ModIO_LCD