Machsupport Forum

Mach Discussion => General Mach Discussion => Topic started by: guynamedbathgate on September 23, 2006, 11:05:34 AM

Title: that cryptic status bar
Post by: guynamedbathgate on September 23, 2006, 11:05:34 AM
let me start by saying that Ive learned alot so far. but Ive never been good at new languages. that being said. Is there a list somewhere that can give me definitions of what the status bar is trying to tell me when there is a bad line of code. currently I am staring at a line of code that I have gone over time and again and I cannot find the problem. Ill lay it out for you

current tool position is
X-.26 Y2.65

in G01 basolute mode

the line I get an error on is
G02 X.25 Y3.16 I.25 J2.65                        now the error message sais" radius to end of arc differs from radius to start".

now Ive done the math a few times here and I com up with a radius of .51 for start and finish coordinates.
any thoughts out there. maybe my math is bad but you know how when you been working a while the numbers start to move on there own.
thanks :-\
Title: Re: that cryptic status bar
Post by: guynamedbathgate on September 23, 2006, 11:21:39 AM
oooh even more frustrating. I ran the same coordinates but switched into incremental mode for the arc and it worked fine so now Im really confused.
Title: Re: that cryptic status bar
Post by: Brian Barker on September 24, 2006, 04:03:00 PM
You need to know that center of the circle can be told to mach3 in two ways... in Inc or ABS if you see an arc error the best thing to try is change the arc center cord type and see if that fixes it. There is no way for us to tell in mach3 what you are loading for Arc types so there is no was to have the  error message tell you to change it.

Hope that helps
Brian
 
Title: Re: that cryptic status bar
Post by: guynamedbathgate on September 24, 2006, 07:49:34 PM
well basicly the program consists of 12 of the same arc going in different directions. when I wrote it in absolute coordinates I got errors on say three of the arcs so I changed them to incrimental move arcs and that seemed to work. so I rewrote the whole thing in incrimental mode and I got the same error on 3 different arcs. so instead of using I and J words I switched them out with an R command to fix them. my problem is I dont care how I have to write it to get it to work. but I would like to have some consistency in the program to avoid confusion. It seems to me that since all the arcs are the same radius and angle(.51'' Radius, 90 deg arcs) either all would work or none would work. Im just curiouse if anyone else has had any trouble with the software giving them errors for random arcs. If its a glitch Id like to know. If its a problem with my programing, I also would like to know. Im not very good at accepting that it is fikle for no reason without trying to fix it a few hundred times. ;D
Title: Re: that cryptic status bar
Post by: Brian Barker on September 24, 2006, 08:25:05 PM
If you post your program i will see what is going on...
Title: Re: that cryptic status bar
Post by: guynamedbathgate on September 25, 2006, 07:55:04 AM
here goes. this is a subprogram so Im calling it say 25 times from a main. starting position for the subprogram is x-.26 y-.25 in absolute coordinates. Hope some learning will happen.

N0 O3333 (PERIMETER SUB)
N1 G90 F30 (ABSOLUTE)
N2 G01 Z-.02
N3 G01 Y.75
N4 G2 X.25 Y1.26 I.25 J.75
N5 G01 X.64
N6 Y1.64
N7 X.25
N8 G02 X-.26 Y2.15 I.25 J2.15
N9 G01 x-.26 Y2.65
N11 G02 X.25 Y3.16 I.25 J2.65
N13 G01 X.75
N14 G02 X1.26 Y2.65 I.75 J2.65
N15 G01 Y2.26
N16 X1.64
N17 Y2.65
N18 G02 X2.15 Y3.16 I2.15 J2.65
N19 G01 X2.65
N20 G02 X2.65 Y1.64 I2.65 J2.65
N21 G01 Y2.15
N22 G02 X2.65 Y1.64 I2.65 J2.15
N23 G01 X2.26
N24 Y1.26
N25 X2.65
N26 G02 X3.16 Y.75 I2.65 J.75
N28 G01 Y.25
N29 G02 X2.65 Y-.26 I2.65 J.25
N30 G01 X2.15
N31 G02 X1.64 Y.25 I2.15 J.25
N32 G01 Y.64
N33 X1.26
N34 Y.25
N35 G02 X.75 Y-.26 I.75 J.25
N36 G01 X.25
N37 G02 X-.26 Y.25 I.25 J.25
N38 G01Y-.25
N40 M99


I also hope I posted the correct verisom of this program as there have been many drafts. If there are any other issues Im going to blame it on the draft.
thanks.
chris
Title: Re: that cryptic status bar
Post by: Brian Barker on September 25, 2006, 08:59:43 AM
The first thing is that you should have the X pos in the sub...  you need to have a move to the start pos of the arc. this will keep odd errors out when you edit your code.

I am looking at your arcs now
Title: Re: that cryptic status bar
Post by: Brian Barker on September 25, 2006, 09:11:35 AM
yup your arc moves are no good... the Inc and ABS are only for the center points. Do you have a cad system that you can draw the point in to see how it works? There is a section in the manual that will tell you how to program the arcs. If you need more help I can do a search on the web and get you a few links too look at. This is not simple and most people use a CAM program and never have to look at all the nasty numbers :)

Best of luck
Brian
Title: Re: that cryptic status bar
Post by: guynamedbathgate on September 25, 2006, 02:55:52 PM
well I would most certainly appreciate any links that could help me. I will eventually get a cam program. but I dont particularly like relying on the machines to do everything for me. and I do enjoy the nasty numbers. is it really that I just calculated the radius's wrong. doesnt seem that hard to give coordinates for a 90 degree arc as longs as the start and finish points are the same distance from the center. could you just give me an example of the correct line for say line N18 of the program I posted.(thats the first line that is giving me an error) how should it look. maybe seeing what exactly Is wrong will help me most. also are you saying all of the arcs are bad. because they are all pretty much the same arc just going different ways. so if theyr all bad than the controller is kind of picky ehh.
again thanks alot for taking the time to help me. Im sure there are people somewhere who get paid to help people like me
 :D
Title: Re: that cryptic status bar
Post by: Hood on September 25, 2006, 04:49:52 PM
guynamedbathgate
Just curious where you come from? there is a town called Bathgate not too far from me.
Hood
Title: Re: that cryptic status bar
Post by: guynamedbathgate on September 25, 2006, 05:30:41 PM
My last name is Bathgate
I was born and currently live in Baltimore, MD (USA, if necessary)
I'm under the impression that my name come from a town in Scottland although I am not Scottish myself.( at least no one in my family for a few generations is from there) Im told alot of my family is German and Czech.
where about is this town. I should like to visit it some day. I hear Scottland is nice.
chris
Title: Re: that cryptic status bar
Post by: Hood on September 25, 2006, 05:36:24 PM
Yes, Bathgate is in Scotland, probably about 20 miles west of Edinburgh, I am about 65 miles North of Edinburgh in a town called Carnoustie.


Hood
Title: Re: that cryptic status bar
Post by: Brian Barker on September 26, 2006, 06:46:12 AM
Did you figure out how to fix the Gcode?
Title: Re: that cryptic status bar
Post by: guynamedbathgate on September 26, 2006, 07:27:49 AM
well I did figure out part of it. I realize now what you mean by absolut and incremental not affecting the I and J adress unless you change the settings under the logic/State. pull down so that was part of it. I had used some of the incremental IJ arc format in other parts of the program, but for one reason or another i wrote that  sub in a absolute IJ format thinking entering a g90 would switch it to absolute arc mode. but aparently it doesnt. I also rewrote the whole thing using the R radius format and that has worked fine. so if that was the problem then yes I did. I also noticed then when I did change the arc setting over to an absolute IJ I got errors on the arcs I had written for an Incremental IJ. so I think it all makes sense now. If there is anything more wrong with what I posted, Id sure like to know to avoid any more problems. but for now thanks for all the help. Im sure Ill have plenty more questions once I get my actual mill set up here in a month or so. and the damned thing will only cut smilley shapes or something wierd like that.
cheers.