Hello Guest it is March 28, 2024, 08:24:15 PM

Author Topic: bench testing the parallel port and pins -questions and issues  (Read 8998 times)

bench testing the parallel port and pins -questions and issues
« on: December 10, 2011, 03:42:06 PM »
HI all,
I'm pretty new to this side of the game. I have a basic knowledge of how mach runs off a parallel port,but before i do something potentially foolish, I'm wondering if someone could give a little direction.

First of all, I just d/l'd mach and licensed it. Its not yet connected to anything. I opened up the ports and pin page, set the e-stop to active low (green tick mark) saved it and returned to the main screen. Port address is good also just in case..
Correct me if I'm am wrong but I should be able to press e-stop and be in a ready state? Correct?
Ive watched Art's video and what he is doing does not match the results that I am experiencing...something is amiss.
If I return to ports and pins and change e-stop to active high (red x) and save settings, when I return to the main screen and press e-stop, I should NOT be able to clear the stop... Is this correct?

the reason I ask is because regardless of the pin setting, Mach will clear the e-stop if I depress the button. Am I missing something?

And lastly,

Ugh.. Is it okay to place a jumper directly into a  printer port? - to activate the e-stop cct? or a limit sw. and if so can whatever input pin that is selected be grounded to any to the pins between 18 and 25? ie.. to e-stop on a campbell b/o board pin 10 port1 to ground.
the reason I ask is because my multimeter is reading 5 v on all pins... -except 18-25... Is this right? I feel that I am missing something and when I realize what that is. I'll feel kinda silly, but enlightened.

I hope this sort of make sense.. I'm really really fresh and green when it comes to this side of things..

Thanks in advance..

JR.
« Last Edit: December 10, 2011, 03:48:41 PM by JSRichards »

Offline Hood

•  25,835 25,835