Hello Guest it is March 28, 2024, 04:18:51 PM

Author Topic: mach3turn spindle sensing problem  (Read 7430 times)

mach3turn spindle sensing problem
« on: February 29, 2008, 03:22:41 PM »
hello, I'm new to mach3. i have set up a cnc lathe, both the z and x axis are working fine , my problem is with the spindle speed sensing. i have a single slot disc with optical sensor. the motor speed is controlled by an external dc drive with a pot of setting the speed. with mach3turn running and motor running the DRO does not indicate the true speed, it seems to top out at 160rpm when the true speed is a lot more. the confusing thing is that if i close down mach3turn and start up mach3mill with the same settings, i get true spindle speed!

what i am i doing wrong?
Re: mach3turn spindle sensing problem
« Reply #1 on: July 30, 2010, 02:53:44 PM »
It is now July 2010, 2 years and 5 months later. I have the exact same problem. Has anyone come across a solution for this problem? I really, really need to have this solved.

Woody

Offline RICH

•  7,427 7,427
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: July 30, 2010, 03:25:07 PM »
The spindle speed here is spot on. I currently use a Hall sensor and in the past used a single slot in a disk and that worked also.

Gdoc and Woddy, what version of Mach are you using?
You may also want to post your xml fle.

If you look in the Manual there is a min slot disk width that you can calculate, did you do that?
Increasing the slot width can help as i remembered i had to almost double the calculated value to get top rpm readout.

RICH

« Reply #3 on: August 10, 2010, 07:08:09 PM »
Hello Rich:

I am using version R3.042.040
I calculated the disk slot as follows:
Using the formula in section 4.8 of the Mach3Turn manual I calculated the disk width at 100 rpm (which is .006") and
calculated it at 2000 rpm (which is .126") and used an actual disk width of .250"
The disk is an aluminum disk 6 inches in diameter.