Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
November 23, 2014, 02:10:38 AM

Login with username, password and session length
Search:     Advanced search
* Home Help Search Calendar Links Login Register
+  Machsupport Forum
|-+  Tangent Corner
| |-+  Bargain Basement
| | |-+  touch probe/tool height setting probe
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 »   Go Down
Print
Author Topic: touch probe/tool height setting probe  (Read 67902 times)
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
zarzul
Active Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 292


Wyoming, USA


View Profile
« Reply #20 on: August 05, 2008, 03:52:49 PM »

Ray A.

Got your payment,  not sure why emails are bouncing,  I will get it shipped out right away.

Arnie
Logged
Laserbite
Holding

Offline Offline

Posts: 1


View Profile
« Reply #21 on: September 19, 2008, 05:21:13 PM »

Arnie,

It looks like a nice digitizer.  I can see you have put careful work into it.

I am wondering about the centering and leveling adjustment.  Do you have to readjust every time you switch from probe to tool tip mode?  It seems from your brochure that the probe tip is centered by tilting the sensor.  But, a tilted sensor would be ineffective for sensing a tool tip.

What do you charge for the digitizer?

Does it use a standard thread so that I can buy a ruby tip probe and just screw it in?

Eric
Logged
zarzul
Active Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 292


Wyoming, USA


View Profile
« Reply #22 on: September 20, 2008, 09:55:50 AM »

Eric,

Thanks for the nice compliments. 

Correct observation on the centering and leveling.  If you swap back and forth you will have to realign the probe/setter.
I charge $99 for the probe +$7 US shipping, it comes with both types of tips and a swarf guard for the toolsetter.
It also comes with a spare plastic piece that the tip screws into.  I can leave the spare untapped if you want a special thread.
The thread I use is a 10-24, that is what I make my tips for.
If you anticipate swapping back and forth I would recommend getting 2.

Arnie
Logged
derekbpcnc
Active Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 196


View Profile
« Reply #23 on: September 29, 2008, 09:49:26 AM »

Hi Arnie,

The probe looks great, do you ship to the UK? (what will the cost be)?.

Thanks,

Derek
Logged

You can "chop it off" but can't "chop it on"
zarzul
Active Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 292


Wyoming, USA


View Profile
« Reply #24 on: September 29, 2008, 12:33:27 PM »

Derek,

UK shipping is only $10.40

Thanks for your interest
Arnie
Logged
MAX711
Active Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 7


View Profile
« Reply #25 on: October 03, 2008, 07:50:39 PM »

Just got my new probe, it's great!

Very well made, especially for the price.  Managed to get it hooked up, centered and working in about 1 hour.  Centering was a bit tricky at first but now I've got it within about 0.5 thou concentric.  Had to reverse the leads to get the input to work so now the LED doesn't but not really bothered.  Also put a smaller spring in to make it more sensitive, now triggers within 1 thou of touching surface (was about 8 thou before).

Here's a video of it edge finding a vice and set Z height.

Highly recommend this for the price.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ytX1dvX3Tpg

Logged
zarzul
Active Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 292


Wyoming, USA


View Profile
« Reply #26 on: October 04, 2008, 03:38:03 PM »

Max,

Thanks for your business and nice compliments.  The lighter spring will indeed make it more sensitive, but you can also compensate for the motion traveled by adjusting the tip diameter compensation number. 

On my machine I first started out with a lighter spring but I kept getting false trips,  traced it back to the vibration in my Z axis was setting it off, it worked fine in the x or y movement but just a 1/2" move on the Z frequently
triggered it with the light spring.

Nice video!!!  I don't recognize the software?  is that Mach3??  Have you made some special macros or what?
What kind of machine do you have?

Arnie
Logged
MAX711
Active Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 7


View Profile
« Reply #27 on: October 05, 2008, 11:37:30 AM »

I did initially try compensating by changing the tip diameter but found that it varied based on which direction I was approaching from.  I think this is because the pivot distance changes based on the 3 point contact geometry and therefore the forces change (drawing attached).

It's a Tormach PCNC1100 running Mach3.  The macros are written by Tormach and I just modified them slightly.

* 2008_10_05_12_47_58.pdf (32.61 KB - downloaded 886 times.)
Logged
MikeHenry
Active Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 55


View Profile
« Reply #28 on: October 05, 2008, 05:43:25 PM »

Max,

Would you be willing to share the changed code?

I also have one of Arnie's probes and a Tormach mill, though I haven't tried out the probe yet.

Mike
Logged
MAX711
Active Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 7


View Profile
« Reply #29 on: October 05, 2008, 06:42:58 PM »

Max,

Would you be willing to share the changed code?

I also have one of Arnie's probes and a Tormach mill, though I haven't tried out the probe yet.

Mike

Hi Mike,

The standard Tormach probing screens work out-of-the-box with Arnie's probe.  All I did was change the one that finds the edge of the vice so that it would also set the Z height.  Just added some code on the end.  I don't think Tormach would appreciate me sharing their code but if you're really stuck PM me your email and I'll send it to you as you are a fellow Tormach customer  Wink
Logged
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 »   Go Up
Print
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!