Hello Guest it is April 18, 2024, 11:52:31 AM

Author Topic: Help a noob to wire up Mach3 USB board  (Read 15081 times)

Help a noob to wire up Mach3 USB board
« on: October 10, 2018, 03:56:09 AM »
Hi Folks,

I'm a complete noob to Mach3, although I have extensive experience in CNC/robotics. I need help in setting up my USB Mach3 board to work with my stepper motors.
Now I'm not talking about the parallel port breakout board since my laptop doesn't have a parallel port. I'm talking about boards like this

https://robokits.co.in/automation-control-cnc/controller/usb-cnc-controller-mach3-4-axis-100khz-interface-board-mk1

The documentation provided is extremely limited so I am having trouble wiring and operating the software. I got this far (see image attached )

XP and XD ( pins 2 & 3? ) are connected to stepper driver's CLK+ and CW+. EN+, EN-, CLK-, CW- are all connected to ground through a terminal block.

This ought to send step signals when I give CNC codes, but it doesn't do anything at all.

I read somewhere that I ought to wire up the left side with 12V connected to 10V and Gnd to that Gnd. Why would the Mach3 board need external power supply? It doesn't run the motors, all it does is send step and direction signals. I'm also mystified as to why 12V should be connected to 10V.

The other problem is that my Mach3 software doesn't seem to be able to process G-Codes.
It loads up fine, even detects my board, but when I click 'cycle start' it just goes to the first instruction and sits there. Sometimes it has trouble generating toolpath too.
I have set the pins for X axis to 2 and 3 in the configuration.

Thanks for you help!

Offline Tweakie.CNC

•  9,198 9,198
  • Super Kitty
    • View Profile
Re: Help a noob to wire up Mach3 USB board
« Reply #1 on: October 10, 2018, 04:27:12 AM »
Your board needs a 12 / 24Volt supply to function.

Tweakie.
PEACE
« Reply #2 on: October 10, 2018, 05:20:32 AM »