Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
October 16, 2018, 06:34:57 PM

Login with username, password and session length
Search:     Advanced search
* Home Help Search Calendar Links Login Register
+  Machsupport Forum
|-+  Third party software and hardware support forums.
| |-+  Mach3 and G-Rex
| | |-+  Cant get parallel port working
Pages: 1   Go Down
Print
Author Topic: Cant get parallel port working  (Read 1104 times)
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
sanderm
Holding

Offline Offline

Posts: 2


View Profile
« on: July 21, 2018, 01:03:02 PM »

Hi Mach3 users.

Im new to cnc milling and i bought a second hand cnc milling machine which is working with parallel port.

Now the pc he used is broken and i got a laptop which im being trying to get working.

I dont get any pulse frequency on the driver tester.

I run windows xp on a hp compaq nc6120. Latest version of mach3.

-Disabled all the acpi devices in device manager
-tried all bios settings for parallel port(ecp bidirectional standard and epp)
-cnc machine moved a hop when restarted the laptop.
-tried special driver
-tried to delete the lpt port and the mach3 driver from the device manager.

Any suggestions that can help me?

Best regards

Sander
Logged
sanderm
Holding

Offline Offline

Posts: 2


View Profile
« Reply #1 on: July 21, 2018, 01:58:00 PM »

I think it is because the 3.3v laptop parallel port which is functioning fine(checked with ltp checkup utility and it gives 3.3v) if i connect the cable to the cnc and use the ltp checkup utility it moves a small but on all axis
Logged
ger21
Global Moderator
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 6,015



View Profile WWW
« Reply #2 on: July 21, 2018, 03:04:04 PM »

Most laptops will not work with a parallel port.
Logged

Gerry

2010 Screenset
http://www.thecncwoodworker.com/2010.html

JointCAM Dovetail and Box Joint software
http://www.g-forcecnc.com/jointcam.html
Tweakie.CNC
CNC is only limited by our imagination.
Global Moderator
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 7,438


Super Kitty


View Profile WWW
« Reply #3 on: July 22, 2018, 12:59:17 AM »

Perhaps a second user PC, which are cheap enough, but check that the parallel port is 5 Volt. You could, if necessary, fit a 5 Volt PCI Parallel Port card - check here for details; http://www.machsupport.com/forum/index.php/topic,34848.msg239910.html#msg239910

Alternately why not consider an external motion controller that could be used with your laptop - many to choose from but best to avoid those from China. (I currently use an ESS on one machine and a 57CNC on another).

Tweakie.
Logged

Success consists of going from failure to failure without loss of enthusiasm.  Winston Churchill.
Pages: 1   Go Up
Print
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.20 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!