Author Topic: Mach3 Windows 10 update -- don't do it  (Read 14228 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline Tweakie.CNC

  • CNC is only limited by our imagination.
  • Global Moderator
  • *
  • Posts: 7,590
  • Super Kitty
    • View Profile
    • Tweakie.CNC
Re: Mach3 Windows 10 update -- don't do it
« Reply #20 on: May 17, 2018, 05:52:10 AM »
Thanks Gerry.

Tweakie.

Success consists of going from failure to failure without loss of enthusiasm.  Winston Churchill.

Offline bryannab

  • Newfangled Solutions Tech Support
  • Global Moderator
  • *
  • Posts: 140
    • View Profile
    • Newfangled Solutions Helpdesk
Re: Mach3 Windows 10 update -- don't do it
« Reply #21 on: May 17, 2018, 07:02:43 AM »
As requested, http://www.machsupport.com/software/downloads-updates/ . For anyone who prefers 3.043.066, it is still available on the FTP server but the patch was done with version 3.043.062.

All the best,
Bryanna
Newfangled Solutions Helpdesk: http://support.machsupport.com
YouTube Support Channel: https://www.youtube.com/c/MachSupportOfficial

Offline ger21

  • Global Moderator
  • *
  • Posts: 6,110
    • View Profile
    • The CNC Woodworker
Re: Mach3 Windows 10 update -- don't do it
« Reply #22 on: May 17, 2018, 07:09:28 AM »
It would be nice if there was some info specifying that this is a patched version made to work with Windows 10 1803 or later, so people wouldn't be confused.
Gerry

2010 Screenset
http://www.thecncwoodworker.com/2010.html

JointCAM Dovetail and Box Joint software
http://www.g-forcecnc.com/jointcam.html

Offline mvcalypso

  • V4 Screen Contributor
  • Posts: 51
    • View Profile
Re: Mach3 Windows 10 update -- don't do it
« Reply #23 on: May 18, 2018, 11:31:40 AM »
Hi,
It would be very nice if the patch was available for 3.43.66
I have many customers running that as the latest version of mach3 released.
There are bug fixes in 3.43.66 which are important and not available in 3.43.62 (I would be happy to provide a list of what at least some of these are if that info has been lost along the way).

I'd also like to recommend that newly patched versions of old releases be given an updated version number. Having multiple different versions of Mach3 that identify themselves as being the same is likely to lead to a support problem.

Dave


Offline bryannab

  • Newfangled Solutions Tech Support
  • Global Moderator
  • *
  • Posts: 140
    • View Profile
    • Newfangled Solutions Helpdesk
Re: Mach3 Windows 10 update -- don't do it
« Reply #24 on: May 18, 2018, 11:46:22 AM »
I appreciate the recommendations, but the patch was developed on version 3.043.062 and there are not plans to create a patch for additional builds. Since the inclusion of the patch was the only change made, the version number has not been changed.

The recommendation has always been to use a dedicated, offline computer for Mach3, which protects the legacy software from update-related disruptions. If your Windows 10 computer has not updated to 1803, you can take it offline and continue using whichever build you'd prefer indefinitely.

-Bryanna
Newfangled Solutions Helpdesk: http://support.machsupport.com
YouTube Support Channel: https://www.youtube.com/c/MachSupportOfficial

Offline ger21

  • Global Moderator
  • *
  • Posts: 6,110
    • View Profile
    • The CNC Woodworker
Re: Mach3 Windows 10 update -- don't do it
« Reply #25 on: May 18, 2018, 11:49:35 AM »
Quote
There are bug fixes in 3.43.66 which are important and not available in 3.43.62

Unfortunately, there are also several bugs present in .066 which makes it unusable for many, if not most, people. .062 does not have these bugs.
Gerry

2010 Screenset
http://www.thecncwoodworker.com/2010.html

JointCAM Dovetail and Box Joint software
http://www.g-forcecnc.com/jointcam.html

Offline mvcalypso

  • V4 Screen Contributor
  • Posts: 51
    • View Profile
Re: Mach3 Windows 10 update -- don't do it
« Reply #26 on: May 18, 2018, 12:07:54 PM »
Brianna,

I would respectfully request that you reconsider this situation.

Here are some key Mach 3.43.66 features which are not available on 3.43.62

1) Mill: DRO 245 whihc displays the current H register value does not update in version prior to 3.43.66
With earlier version of mach, the DRO value is always be 0.

2) Lathe: The ability to set front/rear tool post was added in 3.43.66. Prior to 3.43.66 there were no Script APIs to get or set this tool attribute.

3) I have many customers using a popular product feature which depends on the SetInputData API call. AFAIK that API call does not exist prior to 3.43.66.

By not making the patch available for 3.43.66, users will be forced to give up currently working features in order to keep running mach3.



Ger21: We all know there are different bugs in each version of Mach3. I don't see the logic in saying that is a reason NOT to apply the patch to 3.43.66 - this is not an "exclusive or" situation.
It is quite reasonable to have patched versions of both 3.43.62 and 3.43.66 available. Having a patch 3.43.66 in no way implies that 3.43.62 can not be available. With both of the last two non-development releases available users can then choose which is best for their needs.  3.43.62 may be fine for some, but it not sufficient for all users.

Dave


Offline ger21

  • Global Moderator
  • *
  • Posts: 6,110
    • View Profile
    • The CNC Woodworker
Re: Mach3 Windows 10 update -- don't do it
« Reply #27 on: May 18, 2018, 12:12:31 PM »
Quote
I don't see the logic in saying that is a reason NOT to apply the patch to 3.43.66

I never said that .066 shouldn't be patched. I was just pointing out that .062 is  used by a lot of people that .066 does not work for.

It appears that CNC Router Parts may have actually developed the patch, according to their CNC Zone post. They use the ESS, which recommends .062, which is why they patched that version.
Gerry

2010 Screenset
http://www.thecncwoodworker.com/2010.html

JointCAM Dovetail and Box Joint software
http://www.g-forcecnc.com/jointcam.html

Offline bryannab

  • Newfangled Solutions Tech Support
  • Global Moderator
  • *
  • Posts: 140
    • View Profile
    • Newfangled Solutions Helpdesk
Re: Mach3 Windows 10 update -- don't do it
« Reply #28 on: May 18, 2018, 12:20:32 PM »
It appears that CNC Router Parts may have actually developed the patch, according to their CNC Zone post. They use the ESS, which recommends .062, which is why they patched that version.

You are correct. CNC Router Parts contacted us with an offer to share the patch they had created and make it available to everyone. Mach3 is no longer in development and our team is focused solely on Mach4--which has been the case for several years.
Newfangled Solutions Helpdesk: http://support.machsupport.com
YouTube Support Channel: https://www.youtube.com/c/MachSupportOfficial

Offline mvcalypso

  • V4 Screen Contributor
  • Posts: 51
    • View Profile
Re: Mach3 Windows 10 update -- don't do it
« Reply #29 on: May 18, 2018, 12:35:41 PM »
It appears that CNC Router Parts may have actually developed the patch, according to their CNC Zone post. They use the ESS, which recommends .062, which is why they patched that version.

You are correct. CNC Router Parts contacted us with an offer to share the patch they had created and make it available to everyone. Mach3 is no longer in development and our team is focused solely on Mach4--which has been the case for several years.

The CNC zone thread says that CNC router parts is working with Artsoft to release the patch. So I was thinking that Artsoft was applying the fix to mach3 and releasing an updated version.
Is this literally a binary patch of the compiled mach3.exe file for 3.43.62?  

Dave
« Last Edit: May 18, 2018, 12:37:40 PM by mvcalypso »