Hello Guest it is March 28, 2024, 05:09:02 AM

Author Topic: Advice needed on interface to Kollmorgan drive or new drive recomendation  (Read 1791 times)

I am new to CNC machining and purchased a platform for a laser cutter that was half build from a company that went under.  It has one axis complete with a Kollmorgen PSR4 power supply and BDS5A servo drive along with one B-104 Servo motor and an additional power supply not sure what for, all of these items are believed to have zero time.  I found some Kollmorgen motionlink software which I think is for motor setup and was able to fire up the unit and get motion out of the motor through the controllers serial; port, but I am a long way from doing any machining with this.

I am trying to figure out where to go from here, my research led me to the popular Mach3 software, which has a large following, I was getting ready to pull all the guts out of this unit and replace them with stepper motors when I thought I better slow down and figure out if that was what I wanted to do.  When I looked at the cost of the servo motor I have vs the cost of stepper motors I figured there must be a reason, and it looks to me that for CNC servo motors are probably more powerful and may or may not be better.
]
So looking for advice, should I keep the one setup I have and add 2 more servo motors, replace all or add 2 stepper motors.  If I keep what I have, what do I need as an interface between Mach3 software and the servo driver (if anything) and/or the servo motor.  I appreciate any advice.

I have attempted to post some images hope they work.

Thanks
Bill

« Last Edit: April 17, 2018, 02:32:06 PM by cocoabill »
Hi,
if you can use those servos do so, they are good.

You say you have a BDS5A drive but the pic you attached is for another. Which is it?
The one pictured is an analogue servodrive, old school but useful if you have an analogue controller.