Hello Guest it is April 16, 2024, 12:30:54 AM

Author Topic: Custom script CSMIO/IP-A Mach4  (Read 2108 times)

Custom script CSMIO/IP-A Mach4
« on: May 20, 2019, 08:18:25 AM »
Hello, Iam currently retrofitting an old Masterwood project 309 with Mach4 and the csmio/ip-a controller. I am at the phase to write custom scripts to make the machine function as it should.

The problem is that I cant seem to find a manual on how to use lua with this controller( and no good manual for lua itself). So I am unsure on how to set an output high.
I wanted to try and set an output high with an m-code to get familiar with the language. This is the code I wrote:
function m126 ()
local inst = mc.mcGetInstance();
io = mc.mcIoGetHandle(inst,"CSMIO-IP/out.3");
mc.mcIoSetState(io,1);
end

I am an novice at programming with lua but i have experience with c an c++

Thanks in advance
Re: Custom script CSMIO/IP-A Mach4
« Reply #1 on: May 20, 2019, 02:37:13 PM »
Hi,

If you can program in C and C++ then Lua will be a walk in the park. You could write scripts in C but you would
have to compile, edit and debug outside of Mach. Don't waste your time.

Mach4's latest builds have migrated to Lua 5.3 which has a few subtle variations on 5.2:

https://www.lua.org/manual/5.2/

I notice you are using an Io? I assume that the CSMIO plugin has registered the Io you are addressing?
You cannot register an Io object from a script, registering an Io object is done by a plugin and the object is 'owned'
by the plugin. I don't think that your string correctly addresses the object, assuming it exists.

May I suggest you use a regular output. Output #5 for instance.

function m(126)
local inst=mc.mcGetInstance()
local hsig=mc.mcSignalGetHandle(inst,mc.OSIG_OUTPUT5)
mc.mcSignalSetState(hsig,1)
end

Assign a pin of your controller to Mach's output in the controller plugin and your done. This is how I would address an output
of my ESS for instance.