Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
August 16, 2018, 10:25:52 PM

Login with username, password and session length
Search:     Advanced search
* Home Help Search Calendar Links Login Register
+  Machsupport Forum
|-+  Third party software and hardware support forums.
| |-+  Third party software and hardware support forums.
| | |-+  Win7 PCI - Parallel port problems - help plse?
Pages: 1   Go Down
Print
Author Topic: Win7 PCI - Parallel port problems - help plse?  (Read 494 times)
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
tmoelich
Active Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 4


View Profile
« on: February 13, 2018, 04:26:57 AM »

Hi all?
New to the forum but not to Mach3
Been using for many years on small CNC but old Laptop with parallel port died on me Sad
I put together a Intel machine running Win7 Ultimate and fitted  a PCI - parallel port from MosChip
Win7 are good with the port but not Mach-3 (it seems)
My Mach3 ver V3.043.052 registered to me
My Win7 port 1008-100F and 1000-1007 in device manager.
I’ve put port #1  to “0x1008” in M3 ports & pins
I’ved setup pins to my macine pins motors and estop
Yet I get no satisfaction - also when I install Mach3 it says it cant see the port I must run driver test

Can anybody help please?
Logged
tmoelich
Active Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 4


View Profile
« Reply #1 on: February 13, 2018, 04:30:55 AM »

The 1st time I ran driver test I got the following
LPT1 &H 901 00000
LPT2 &H 3480
LPT3 &H 61

Not sure what to do with it?
Logged
Tweakie.CNC
CNC is only limited by our imagination.
Global Moderator
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 7,354


Super Kitty


View Profile WWW
« Reply #2 on: February 13, 2018, 04:33:04 AM »

If your Win7 Ultimate is the 64 bit version then it will not work with the parallel port.

Run DriverTest.exe (Mach3 folder) and post a screnshot of the result.

Tweakie.
Logged

Success consists of going from failure to failure without loss of enthusiasm.  Winston Churchill.
tmoelich
Active Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 4


View Profile
« Reply #3 on: February 13, 2018, 04:37:09 AM »

Jip it is 64 bit.
If I run driver test
It gives a splash screen with
“No Driver Sensed installed. Run Driver Test”
If I hit OK
It does nothing.
Logged
Tweakie.CNC
CNC is only limited by our imagination.
Global Moderator
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 7,354


Super Kitty


View Profile WWW
« Reply #4 on: February 13, 2018, 05:27:33 AM »

Looks like you have two alternatives...

Install Win7 32 bit so you can continue to use the Parallel Port.
or
Use an external motion controller. There are many to choose from but steer clear of the cheap Far-Eastern controllers. (If it's any help, I use the Warp9 ESS https://www.warp9td.com/ ).

Tweakie.
« Last Edit: February 14, 2018, 03:01:59 AM by Tweakie.CNC » Logged

Success consists of going from failure to failure without loss of enthusiasm.  Winston Churchill.
tmoelich
Active Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 4


View Profile
« Reply #5 on: February 13, 2018, 05:30:15 AM »

Shot thanks a million!!!!
I’ll try the 32-bit option for now (time not on my side) but will upgrade to an
External controller soon.

Thanks for the advice let me get to Win7-32

Cheers!👍
Logged
Pages: 1   Go Up
Print
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.20 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!