Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
December 12, 2017, 09:03:13 AM

Login with username, password and session length
Search:     Advanced search
* Home Help Search Calendar Links Login Register
+  Machsupport Forum
|-+  Third party software and hardware support forums.
| |-+  Galil (Moderators: smurph, kcrouch)
| | |-+  Need Help With DMC-17x0 and ICM-1900 output wiring
Pages: 1   Go Down
Print
Author Topic: Need Help With DMC-17x0 and ICM-1900 output wiring  (Read 117 times)
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
Third-Gen
Active Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 11


View Profile
« on: December 06, 2017, 09:54:03 PM »

Ok I have everything working so far, minus one Mitsu drive, and getting the outputs to work. I have 2 Aries drives working, all my limits and homes are working fine. My issue now is getting outputs to work, or do anything. I have the standard, non isolated version of the board, the bare ICM-1900. There are no chips in the "isolated" section. Seems like all outputs are sunk to ground, no matter what I try. Ive tried hooking up LEDS, my meter, pulling them high and low, nothing. Is there a jumper that needs to be installed? This is driving me nuts. I have Outputs set to pins 41 and up, per the PDF on here on setting up pins, port 1, and ive tried active low and high to no avail. Heres a pic of my board.

Logged
GrandpaXYZ
Active Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 7


View Profile
« Reply #1 on: December 07, 2017, 07:02:16 AM »

Can't see your pic but will try my best to help:

- There's no jumper for the non isolated output. (Those a TTL).
- I strongly suggest that you first try turning the output on/off with the Galil software, either with the graphic interface (I use Galil tools) or with the  SB, CB, OB and OP command. This way you will bypass Mach3 which will make it easier to debug your setup.
- If this doesn't work there may be something wrong with your controller card.
- In mach3 make sure you've set the "output Signal" tab in "Ports and Pins". Port should be set to #1.

Logged
Third-Gen
Active Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 11


View Profile
« Reply #2 on: December 08, 2017, 05:07:58 AM »

Grandpa,

This is a DMC-1740, ISA card, GalilTools wont connect to it. I can only use the DMC Smart Terminal, so I can see all the input states, but cant actually turn outputs on or off. Ive put my scope on the outputs and theres never a change of state, but maybe thats since theres no load current? IDK im hoping to find someone with another 1900 board that has gotten it working before and can show me some examples. Ive set all the ports and pins per the Galil Plugin guide on Machsupport and everything else works fine, the machine homes, limits work, the DRO is accurate and it moves in X and Y nicely. Just needs to get an output or 2 working. Thought about using the enable port if worse came to worse.

Im dealing right now with trying to get my last drive, a Mitsu MR-J3-20A to talk to the 1900. No matter what mode the drive is in, i cant get it to do anything. I can move the motor by hand and the DRO updates, but thats it. about to throw this Mitsu crap away and get another aries drive....
Logged
Third-Gen
Active Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 11


View Profile
« Reply #3 on: December 10, 2017, 03:31:59 AM »

Ive messed with this to no end. I think theres a setting on the card that im missing. The outputs wont change state, they are just stuck at 5V all the time. I swapped from a 1755 (1760) card to a 1740 since the other card is going in another machine, and i swapped all the jumpers but nothing. Can I run a PP breakout on port 2 to give me triggers?
Logged
Third-Gen
Active Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 11


View Profile
« Reply #4 on: December 10, 2017, 04:18:29 AM »

ok im a dummy, had my wiring mixed up. had inputs 1-4 and outputs 1-4 crossed at my breakout point. DERRRRRRRRR
Logged
Tweakie.CNC
CNC is only limited by our imagination.
Global Moderator
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 6,940


Super Kitty.


View Profile WWW
« Reply #5 on: December 10, 2017, 04:35:15 AM »

I am sure you will not be the first (or last) person to do just this.  Wink

Good news that you found it though.
Logged

Success consists of going from failure to failure without loss of enthusiasm.  Winston Churchill.
GrandpaXYZ
Active Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 7


View Profile
« Reply #6 on: December 10, 2017, 03:09:00 PM »

Yep, not the first one for sure  Embarrassed

Btw, Pokeys (57U/57E) are great for that kind of thing if you ever run out of inputs/outputs.

Logged
GrandpaXYZ
Active Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 7


View Profile
« Reply #7 on: December 10, 2017, 03:20:45 PM »

Grandpa,

Im dealing right now with trying to get my last drive, a Mitsu MR-J3-20A to talk to the 1900. No matter what mode the drive is in, i cant get it to do anything. I can move the motor by hand and the DRO updates, but thats it. about to throw this Mitsu crap away and get another aries drive....

Again, best way is always to isolate the part you're working on. First test the drive alone with the servo motor, maybe with its software if there's one. If the drive can run the motor this way THEN connect to the Galil board. Also, the Ultra300 drives from Allen Bradley are working very well with many brands of servo motor. I've used them with some Tamagawa servo motor. Both are often found dirt cheap on e-Bay. (400W combo for less than $100 !!!)

I'm not familiar with Mitsubishi drive but the typical, drive enable input ant other similar should be checked first, but you certainly know that by now.

Good luck!

Logged
Pages: 1   Go Up
Print
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.20 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!