Hello Guest it is March 29, 2024, 05:53:29 AM

Author Topic: Unexplained estop triggers and other issues on new build  (Read 2686 times)

Unexplained estop triggers and other issues on new build
« on: September 24, 2017, 09:22:17 AM »
I have been using mach3 on my friends shop tormach for nearly 5 years now.  I recently purchased a CNC Masters CNC JR for my garage. The CNC Masters controller software is absolutely garbage. I was considering other CNC controller software, but I know mach3 and did not really want to learn another program.

So I decided to build an mach3 controller from the ground up.  Im using mach3 v 3.043.062. using windows xp sp3 os. UC100 usb converter, and a c11gs BOB from cnc4pc. Ill get to the machine specifics in the show and tell section at a later time.  Over all i am very happy with the conversion. Accurate enough for my needs.

One of the issues I am having sometimes when I'm in single step mode using the ALT J function, particularly when operating the z axis in .001 or .0001, the software sometimes just locks up. This usually is remedied hitting the stop button on the program run screen or by cycling the estop reset on the screen. The annoying part is that of course I have to reference all my axises. I have proximity switches from cnc4pc which seem pretty repeatable. Not a deal breaker, just annoying.

Another issue I have is that sometimes while loading or closing G code, this will also trigger a estop. Again, just annoying to reference the axises. I've noticed that I have better luck using the drop down menu instead of the button on the screen to load g code.   

Is there away to keep the axises referenced after an estop has occured. Or is this due to mach3 not knowing exactly where the steppers are after an estop? I realize that if there is a hard limit exceeded, the motors will certainly be out of step.