Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
May 28, 2017, 05:12:24 PM

Login with username, password and session length
Search:     Advanced search
* Home Help Search Calendar Links Login Register
+  Machsupport Forum
|-+  Mach Discussion
| |-+  Mach Screens
| | |-+  Works in progress
| | | |-+  100% Compatible Replacement for WorkOffset and Tool Offset Forms
Pages: 1   Go Down
Print
Author Topic: 100% Compatible Replacement for WorkOffset and Tool Offset Forms  (Read 167 times)
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
MyGarageShop
Active Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 13


View Profile
« on: May 18, 2017, 06:06:51 PM »

We are working a new ScreenSet called SmartScreens. The goal is not to just make another screen set.
They must be unique, usable, uncluttered, and easy to use.

The area that we spent endless nights thinking and re-thinking was work offsets and tool tables.
We were hitting a brick wall when the limited choices seem unattractive.
    1.  Use the existing pop up forms which have some "inconsistencies"
    2.  Replace the default storage withXML files and worry about forward and backward compatibility
    3.  Create some scripts that load the files using DRO's... But you still can't easily save
    4.  Ya Da Ya Da

Some we took the road less traveled ( not sure anyone else has taken this road )

We researched, and replicated a 100% compatible replace for both forms...
The bonus is we now have the ability a full set of functions to read, modify, and write the information
So now we can be more creative, or to follow our design theme we can be Smarter...

Your thoughts?


* IMG_4478.PNG (17.38 KB, 798x406 - viewed 27 times.)

* IMG_4479.PNG (22.11 KB, 790x433 - viewed 23 times.)
Logged
RICH
Global Moderator
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 6,900




View Profile
« Reply #1 on: May 19, 2017, 07:37:31 AM »

The tool table does not address use for the Lathe.

RICH
Logged
MyGarageShop
Active Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 13


View Profile
« Reply #2 on: May 19, 2017, 02:04:33 PM »

I'm curious... (i am not a CNC lathe user, Id do routing, engraving, and plasma cutting)

Since we have replaced this we can also extend it while keeping it 100% compatible

What does it not do for lathe

There are some icons on the left side that look like carbide inserts to me
It does not seem to work properly in Mach 3 dialog.

But we fixed it and are able to store, retrieve, and return the insert style chosen. (that is why we say on the screen don't use the Mach dialog because it scrambles that portion of the file every time)
Logged
RICH
Global Moderator
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 6,900




View Profile
« Reply #3 on: May 22, 2017, 05:37:20 AM »

Quote
What does it not do for lathe

The tool table for the lathe is different than the mill.
Just open it and compare the flyouts.

Quote
There are some icons on the left side that look like carbide inserts to me
It does not seem to work properly in Mach 3 dialog.

You click on the icons and they change to represent the type of insrt your using
and are saved if applied in lathe. Works fine on the versions I have used.

For lathe work offsets, in my screen set, I just added a few buttons to select what work offset should be current and provided the ability to change offsets
via a dro. For the tool table, buttons were added for numerous manipulations the tool table. To each their owne..............

RICH
Logged
Pages: 1   Go Up
Print
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.20 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!