Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
April 29, 2017, 04:27:13 AM

Login with username, password and session length
Search:     Advanced search
* Home Help Search Calendar Links Login Register
+  Machsupport Forum
|-+  General CNC Chat
| |-+  Building or Buying a Wood routing table.. Beginnners guide..
| | |-+  Cant Figure out Rotary Axis
Pages: 1   Go Down
Print
Author Topic: Cant Figure out Rotary Axis  (Read 355 times)
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
wes709
Active Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 25


View Profile
« on: April 16, 2017, 01:03:04 AM »

Hello

I am working with my cnc machine to come up with a rotary axis. I am currently stuck on working with the A axis to have it turn accuratly.

My setup
Cnc home build 3 Axis (2 steppers driving x)
Aspire for toolpaths
Mach3 mill
Using the CNC Wrapper to convert X values to A values.
Im Sure there is something i am doing wrong.

Here is a Video and the G codes

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=x1sjG1qWfMo

* Rounding Toolpath.txt (36.49 KB - downloaded 6 times.)
* Rounding Toolpath - WRAPPED.txt (38.26 KB - downloaded 6 times.)
Logged
RICH
Global Moderator
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 6,865




View Profile
« Reply #1 on: April 16, 2017, 06:23:30 AM »

A rotary axis can be configured as linear or angular and is defined in
General Logic Configuration under Angular Properties for the  axis.

In motor tuning for the rotary axis the Steps per are defined as
"Steps per degree" for angular configuration. If linear then the steps per degree
are relative to linear travel per degree for a cirular object ie; Diameter x pi=
the circumference and that would be the linear distance for 360 degrees.
 
You can use the axis calibration feature ( Settings Alt6 ) tab for a rotary axis.

You need to calculate the steps per for the rotary and should take into consideration gear reduction and  micro stepping,of the axis.

Velocity and accel settings are  trial and error just like any axis.

As far as the other programs read the manuals for them.

RICH
« Last Edit: April 16, 2017, 06:25:37 AM by RICH » Logged
wes709
Active Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 25


View Profile
« Reply #2 on: April 16, 2017, 08:52:27 PM »

A HUUUUUUUGGGGGEEEEEE thanks to you Rich all i needed was someone to tell me that it could be configured linear and i was able to figure it out from there thanks so much man happy easter ! Take care
Logged
RICH
Global Moderator
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 6,865




View Profile
« Reply #3 on: April 17, 2017, 04:59:27 AM »

Glad your off  to having fun again.

RICH
Logged
Pages: 1   Go Up
Print
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.20 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!