Hello Guest it is March 28, 2024, 09:31:12 AM

Author Topic: Problems with cutting depth getting shallower  (Read 2371 times)

Offline Bucks

•  23 23
    • View Profile
Problems with cutting depth getting shallower
« on: March 17, 2017, 04:10:48 PM »
I'm trying to pocket some text on a piece of formica, but as the cutter works along the piece the depth of cut is getting shallower & shallower, for example we're cutting to 0.6mm depth with 6 passes, the first few letters start cutting on the first pass, then the next few takes 2 passes before it starts cutting & so on until nearer the end it's taking 5 or 6 passes to even start cutting & sometimes not even touching the workpiece towards the end.  The work piece is about 6" in length.
I've gone over the work surface with a bottoming bit so it's not an uneven work surface,
Any ideas what the problem might be?
Sorry if this is a bit vague I'm pretty new to CNC

Offline Bucks

•  23 23
    • View Profile
Re: Problems with cutting depth getting shallower
« Reply #1 on: March 17, 2017, 05:04:04 PM »
After some more research on the internet we've decreased the velocity and increased the acceleration on the z axis so
original settings were: steps 400, velocity 1500, acceleration 400 (as directed by manufacturer)
Settings changed to:   steps 400, velocity 1000, acceleration 600 (plucked out of thin air)
We've just plucked these figures out of the air but they seem to have sorted the problem out. Can anyone advice as to what the velocity & acceleration Should be & should we change the  x and y axis settings to this as well? All where set at the same 1500 velocity & 400 acceleration.

Offline Bucks

•  23 23
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: March 18, 2017, 05:51:09 AM »
Going by the spec on the Ebay advert the stepper motors are: 57 two-phase 3A 150N.cm (doesn't mean anything to me though)