Hello Guest it is March 29, 2024, 02:48:27 AM

Author Topic: Homing switch concerns  (Read 3234 times)

Homing switch concerns
« on: January 09, 2017, 11:37:41 AM »
Hi Guys, sort of newbie here. Have run a Pacer Cadet for some years with antiquated control and driver software (Pacers own) on a W95 (yes W95) dedicated PC. I'm an engineer (mechanical and electronic) by trade so decided to make use of the excellent mechanical construction of the unit and put all new drivers, controls and software in. All is going OK and I've answered lots of my questions by trawling through this excellent forum but I am concerned about the accuracy/repeatability of the homing sensors. Mine are two-wire inductive but any sensor, microswitch, opto, capacitive etc. can't be considered as 'absolute' position switches as lots of outside factors (temperature, vibration, dust, electrical noise etc.) can affect the trip point. These switches are fine as ultimate 'limit' switches to stop carriages mashing into things but not for accurate origin setting AFAIK... I've worked on a lot of precision industrial machines and we would normally use a Renishaw (or similar) absolute position sensor to determine a repeatable and accurate origin for toolset.

As Mach3 (which I am running) goes I understand that it takes the home position (all three axes) as the point from which to calculate the 0,0,0 location?? Is that so? If so how can I guarantee that 0,0,0 will be in the same place after each 'homing'??

Crazy thing is I've used this machine for 5 years and never questioned it, just run the machine, and it's only now that I am into the rebuild that the question has arisen.

I'm sure you guys will have an answer!

Regards

Tim
Pacer Cadet, guts gone, new stuff installed, sounds like a full string quartet in motion...

Offline Davek0974

•  2,606 2,606
    • View Profile
Re: Homing switch concerns
« Reply #1 on: January 09, 2017, 12:51:29 PM »