Hello Guest it is April 17, 2024, 10:55:10 PM

Author Topic: M-code to turn laser on/off - Can my macro execute any faster?  (Read 6387 times)

M-code to turn laser on/off - Can my macro execute any faster?
« on: November 26, 2016, 09:29:46 PM »
Hello, I've been using my CNC to laser engrave things with a DIY 2W setup.

Initially, my z-signal got redirected to a relay, that would turn the laser on or off.

Now, I'm trying to use the output signals on my G540's. I have M420 set to turn the laser on, and M421 to turn it off. It works just fine... HOWEVER - the macro takes a second to execute and leaves a small burn mark where the laser starts and stops.

Is there a way to make the macros execute faster? The only line of code in the file is "ActivateSignal(OUTPUT1)".

Maybe M11/M10 codes will work better? I have no experience with those yet

Alternatively, I might be completely overlooking a simple way to control lasers with Mach3. Any help would be appreciated!!!

Thanks

EDIT: sorry for prematurely posting... I think the M11/M10 will work here after some testing
« Last Edit: November 26, 2016, 09:37:27 PM by frarebear »

Offline Tweakie.CNC

•  9,197 9,197
  • Super Kitty
    • View Profile
Re: M-code to turn laser on/off - Can my macro execute any faster?
« Reply #1 on: November 27, 2016, 02:33:06 AM »
M11 / M10 is the way to go.

Tweakie.
PEACE
« Reply #2 on: November 27, 2016, 02:36:49 AM »
M11 / M10 is the way to go.

Tweakie.

Thanks!

I got it working on my machine. A buddy is trying it too, and we need to add a delay. There's a spot to enter the millisecond delay for both M11, and M10. On mine, I changed it to 25 for testing purposes, and it ran just fine. For his, he set it to 25 and it started cutting things in the wrong place, as well as making odd noises.

I have no idea what that means. I saw another post about changing the IJ settings in general config, but he said that didn't do anything.