Hello Guest it is March 28, 2024, 08:46:23 AM

Author Topic: testing the water, so to speak  (Read 5664 times)

Offline LGF

•  37 37
  • can't sit still
    • View Profile
testing the water, so to speak
« on: August 27, 2014, 06:06:23 AM »
Guys

Yes total noob at this (all of it) but managed to get my arduino to be a slave, comms between Mach3 and arduino (ModBus slave) seems to be working (test's can read and write) and started some of the config's in Mach screens, however, I have no idea how to start a brain.

I have created one, but completely lack the means to be sure if it will work for what I have. So here's me testing the water, if I post it here, would somebody please be so kind as to at least check it for me and tell me it's rubbish or yes it will work, but i still need to rework it?

I have the following as far as the physical machine setup goes:

4 axis X,Y, Z and a rotational axis B parallel fitted to Y pointing in the Y- direction.
these are connected to four Nema23 1.8deg Steppers, X, Y, and Z have 3NM holding torque and B only has 1NM holding torque.
4 Wantai DQ542MA stepper controllers.
a cooling pump currently manually switched (would love to include that into the brain, dunno how to thou)
Manual (POT operated speed control, Not very accurate at best) speed control for the router spindle.
iPad app, to be installed today along with the PC applet (looking forward to this control interface)
No limit switches at current, perhaps me struggling with the brain is a blessing in disguise as to ensure I have these installed prior to any actual movements of the machine. I am intending to install at least two per X, Y and Z axis and hopefully also a homing switch (not too sure how many and config (physical machine layout) would be required)
There is a 2Channel relay that is still to be fitted to actually cut the power at the end of a program (entire cycle one channel) remainder channel to cut router and coolant power between tool changes (tool cycle ends)