Hello Guest it is April 18, 2024, 11:10:14 PM

Author Topic: cnc6040 + gecko 540 = many questions  (Read 4233 times)

Offline ofg

•  29 29
    • View Profile
cnc6040 + gecko 540 = many questions
« on: January 19, 2014, 10:39:26 PM »
Hello. This is my first post. A little about my self. I am a production machinist by trade. I work on haas, and okuma  machines, running good ole fanuc controls. Ive not done any real programming, just heavy editing of known programs, for parts and materials that I am very familiar with.

So, I bought a Chinese made cnc 6040 router table, and a gecko 540 controller,, and figured it would be simple for a pro like me to just get it up and cutting chips in no time. Its a bit more complicated than I thought. Im trying to cut acetal plastic using a .250 2 flute endmill. Just a simple pocket. I thought it would cut like butter, but its more like aluminum. Initially I stalled out the machine by trying to take too big of a cut, and after E stopping, and raising everything up, I found that all 3 axis had lost position. So, when I went to "go to zero" it went a couple inches off from where zeros were set.

How can I prevent that from happening again? Do I have the velocity in mach3 too high? My settings are as follows : 10160 steps per inch, velocity 78, acceleration 7.8, step pulse 3 , dir pulse 2.   Speed is a bit fast, as I had to slow feed down in g code to f3, and then reduce manually on the mach screen to 60%.  Depth of cut was .05, and spindle speed was 15k. Yeah, Im pretty sure the vfd was reading 15k,, or it might have been 1500,, but pretty sure it was 15k. The vfd goes up to 40k, but its got the decimal point at a strange spot in the display, so im not 100% sure about it. Im controlling the spindle manually, as I dont know how to hook up the Chinese made vfd to the gecko 540 yet.