Hello Guest it is March 28, 2024, 08:58:14 AM

Author Topic: Position and direction problems on all axis only with Slow Jog Percentage  (Read 3167 times)

Offline Frank1959

•  38 38
  • Do it, it´ll free your mind.
    • View Profile
    • Monumental Sculpture
Hi all! This is my first time on the Forum, hope to be able to concisely explain my problem and not waste people´s time. I´ve checked the Forum for similar problems but cant find anything.
I´ve been 3D milling polistirene for 2 months at “normal” feed-rate perfectly, (“normal” for my home-built cnc machine being 1875mm/minute) using g-codes from MESHCAM and recently DESKPROTO, and want now to use CAMBAM to mill aluminium NEMA plates  for a bigger, stronger router, and as my home built router is not very strong, So I´ll need to use quite slow feed rates, which is fine by me.
So, to the point:
If I set the Slow Jog Percentage DRO to 3% or lower, and manually jog  in a +X direction, all works well…the tool moves  at the same rate/distance as the DRO.
However, if I jog in a –X direction, the tool does not keep up with the DRO…if the DRO says 20mm of movement, the tool has only moved about a third of that.
In the Y axis, again at 3% or lower in Slow Jog Percentage, whatever direction I jog, the tool moves the in same direction, always – .
 If I jog in a –Y direction, the tool and DRO are equal. If I jog in a +Y direction, the tool as well as going in the wrong direction, only goes about half the distance the DRO reads.
In Z, similar to X…..in  – direction (down) the DRO and actual distance travelled is the same…in + direction (upward) it loses position.
Its as if the motors at these low speeds don’t have the torque necessary, to do the job, as well as having direction problems.
Attached is xml file.
I´ve tried changing kernel speed , and also step and direction pulse width in the motor setting, all to no avail.
My PC has XP sp3, 1.67Ghz and 2.25GB Ram., and a www.cnc-robotica.com USB interface.