Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
September 30, 2014, 06:56:32 PM

Login with username, password and session length
Search:     Advanced search
* Home Help Search Calendar Links Login Register
+  Machsupport Forum
|-+  Tangent Corner
| |-+  Bargain Basement
| | |-+  touch probe/tool height setting probe
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14   Go Down
Print
Author Topic: touch probe/tool height setting probe  (Read 65879 times)
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
Bob La Londe
Active Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 199


View Profile
« Reply #130 on: December 31, 2012, 11:26:53 AM »

Also, looks like HOSS did quite a bit of playing and experimenting with probing using Mach.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7e9hx_QKFQU

Might be worth a look here where he talks about it back in 2008 - 2011.  

http://www.hossmachine.info/forum/yaf_postst7_Automatic-Tool-Probe.aspx
« Last Edit: December 31, 2012, 11:28:30 AM by Bob La Londe » Logged
CNC_Dan
Active Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 8


View Profile
« Reply #131 on: January 11, 2013, 04:15:13 PM »

What type of probing do you plan to do Huh  There is a 3d probing wizard in mach3. It does work.

Stirling is working on a new version of his creepy crawler routine and it should  be top notch. Just have to wait until it is done.

There are plenty of macros and screensets that support 2.5d probing.

Just a thought, (;-) TP
So where's Stirling's Creep Crawler routine?  I want something Wink

I haven't run it yet (can't decide if I'm going to return Zarzul's probe) but is the probing wizard in Mach you referred to the "bed of nails" routine?

Bob, that video is great.  I guess I need to see if I can run that probe's software through my Gecko to get the STL.

Zarzul?  Do you have any software for your probe?
Logged
Bob La Londe
Active Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 199


View Profile
« Reply #132 on: January 11, 2013, 04:48:28 PM »

Yep.  There are two a bed of nails, and a 4th axis routine.  

Its just a probe whether you buy Pauls or Zarzuls.  Neither comes with software. 
« Last Edit: January 11, 2013, 04:51:39 PM by Bob La Londe » Logged
CNC_Dan
Active Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 8


View Profile
« Reply #133 on: January 14, 2013, 08:34:47 PM »

Yep.  There are two a bed of nails, and a 4th axis routine. 

Its just a probe whether you buy Pauls or Zarzuls.  Neither comes with software. 
That's a bummer.  I have a feeling this is going to be little used without good (fast) software but I guess we'll see.  3D probing sounds like it's going to be painful.
Logged
Bob La Londe
Active Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 199


View Profile
« Reply #134 on: January 14, 2013, 08:45:10 PM »



Take a look at this one: 

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9skopcbhurU 

Logged
CNC_Dan
Active Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 8


View Profile
« Reply #135 on: January 14, 2013, 09:04:40 PM »

That's Stirling's software and I think it's gone.  But it's still a bed of nails, just faster, right?  Or am I missing something (again)?
Logged
Bob La Londe
Active Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 199


View Profile
« Reply #136 on: January 14, 2013, 09:18:44 PM »

It maps out the 2D field of the object apparently.  That would reduce time over the simple square field defined in the regular probing wizard. 
Logged
Russeller459
Active Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 3


View Profile
« Reply #137 on: February 27, 2014, 03:37:41 PM »

Are you still making these? Would be interested in one
Logged
zarzul
Active Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 292


Wyoming, USA


View Profile
« Reply #138 on: February 27, 2014, 03:41:29 PM »

yes,  you can email me at arnie@wyomingwireless.com to order,  I make these in 3/8 or 1/4" shaft sizes, and have them in stock ready to ship.

Logged
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14   Go Up
Print
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!