Hello Guest it is March 28, 2024, 10:38:09 PM

Author Topic: continuous motion on a Zenbot  (Read 8106 times)

Offline CMC

•  10 10
    • View Profile
continuous motion on a Zenbot
« on: January 11, 2013, 09:34:46 PM »
First, I am a newbie at this.  I have written a small G-code program to drill a series of large diameter holes with a small bit.  The cutting is done in many short strokes rather than one continuous motion for each circle.  Many of the tutorials that I have watched show the router moving at a continuous and a constant lateral feed rate.  My Zenbot moves a distance, stops, then moves again.  Have I got something set wrong or is this inherent in Mach3 or the Zenbot?     Carl

Offline BR549

•  6,965 6,965
    • View Profile
Re: continuous motion on a Zenbot
« Reply #1 on: January 11, 2013, 11:17:21 PM »
What does your Gcode look like?? Are you trying to DRILL holes or MILL holes??

(;-) TP

Offline CMC

•  10 10
    • View Profile
« Reply #2 on: January 12, 2013, 09:41:41 PM »
I am milling.  But it doesn't seem to matter what I do, even with  GO or G1 codes, it moves to the spot in jerks, not a nice smooth motion.  It moves about 1/2 inch, then stops for a fraction of a second, then moves again about another 1/2 inch or so.  I've varied the speed of anywhere from 1 to 50 and experience the same sympton. Changed jog size, jog on and off, all to no avail.   It makes me believe it is inherent in either the program or Zenbot controller, but not sure.  It doesn't seem to effect results, just looks funny.   Carl

« Reply #3 on: January 12, 2013, 11:17:39 PM »
Are you in exact stop mode? Or constant velocity mode under general config? 

John

Offline Tweakie.CNC

•  9,196 9,196
  • Super Kitty
    • View Profile
« Reply #4 on: January 13, 2013, 02:11:35 AM »
Carl,

Could be that you are using a laptop or other unsuitable computer ??

Tweakie.
PEACE

Offline CMC

•  10 10
    • View Profile
« Reply #5 on: January 13, 2013, 03:06:06 PM »