Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
October 25, 2014, 06:32:28 PM

Login with username, password and session length
Search:     Advanced search
* Home Help Search Calendar Links Login Register
+  Machsupport Forum
|-+  G-Code, CAD, and CAM
| |-+  G-Code, CAD, and CAM discussions
| | |-+  Solidworks-> ???CAM??? -> G-code->MACH3
Pages: 1   Go Down
Print
Author Topic: Solidworks-> ???CAM??? -> G-code->MACH3  (Read 5724 times)
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
motocrossmann
Active Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 6


View Profile
« on: April 04, 2012, 08:17:11 PM »

I'm a home hobbyist who has recently rigged up my little 3-axis mill with Mach3.   I have access to a legit version of Solidworks by virtue of the work I do, but I do NOT have access to any CAM software.   As a hobbyist, all the decent CAM software that can work with Solidworks costs some serious $$$.   What would you guys suggest?   I'd be willing to spend as much as $200, but that is orders of magnitude off of what most CAM companies want.   What say ye???    I'm not interested in using pirated software.
Logged
ger21
Global Moderator
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 3,995



View Profile WWW
« Reply #1 on: April 04, 2012, 08:27:20 PM »

You can export .stl files and use MeshCAM.

Or export 2D drawings and use Vectric's Cut2D.

Both are under $200
Logged

jafc76
Active Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 29


View Profile
« Reply #2 on: April 05, 2012, 10:33:53 AM »

HSMXpress is a free CAM for SolidWorks.

http://www.hsmworks.com/hsmxpress/

Juan
Logged
Sam
THIS SPACE FOR RENT.
Global Moderator
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 985


View Profile WWW
« Reply #3 on: April 05, 2012, 02:43:44 PM »

I second the HSM software. Mighty powerful indeed.
Logged

"I sometimes think we consider the good fortune of the early bird and overlook the bad fortune of the early worm." FDR - 1922

"CONFIDENCE: it's the feeling you experience before you fully understand the situation."
motocrossmann
Active Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 6


View Profile
« Reply #4 on: April 05, 2012, 04:57:29 PM »

What?   Free???   How can that be?   I will definitely check it out.
Logged
jafc76
Active Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 29


View Profile
« Reply #5 on: April 05, 2012, 06:09:36 PM »

Yes, free. I'm using it and I made a few parts. Really good software!

If you only need to make 2D parts, is enough.

Juan
Logged
Pages: 1   Go Up
Print
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!