Hello Guest it is March 28, 2024, 08:13:42 AM

Author Topic: Probing Surface to adjust Depth of Carvings on Non-Planar Surface??  (Read 20852 times)

Hello Forum!

At first i want to introduce myself, i am a hobbyist from Germany. I use Mach3 for 5 years, now with a Smoothstepper ( newest Motherboard did cause Step-Rubish ).
Please excuse my bad English, I'm not used to write in English.
I'm pretty pleased with mach3, but I'm missing one feature...

I'm using Mach3 mainly to engrave or V-Carve in Wood.
My Mainproblem is that my Engravings are variable in Width because I'm using V-Bits and little Hight-tolerance in Material will cause my Engravings look ugly.
If there was a possibility to scan the material with a Touch-Probe on the Machinetable to adjust the Z-Depth automatically my problems were gone.
I know just one Software at the moment which is capable for that.
Perhaps there is a possibility similar to your Srew-mapping feature?

The perfect result should have the possibility to activate or deactivate it at any Toolchange in program.
Sometimes it's better to deactivate the feature for Cutout for example.

I know a surfacing Toolpath can make it, but i got pieces of wood looking great because of Agingeffects on the surface, i would prefer to engrave directly on the existing surface without messing-up my results.

Is it possible?

I know that it's not programmed in a day, but it could be a big Step forward for all engravers..

Greetings from Germany, Thomas

Offline RICH

•  7,427 7,427
    • View Profile
Re: Probing Surface to adjust Depth of Carvings on Non-Planar Surface??
« Reply #1 on: January 15, 2012, 03:58:50 PM »
Thomas,
Think your the first person to every ask how to cut / machine a warped board.
What's the software called that you mentioned?

I quess you could scan the board, generate a 3D solid of the surface and layer in the engraving to follow it.
Then use CAM to get the code for it. Not as easy as it sounds.