Hello Guest it is April 20, 2024, 10:03:00 AM

Author Topic: Would someone please help me get started  (Read 5723 times)

Offline AndyG

•  14 14
    • View Profile
Would someone please help me get started
« on: May 22, 2011, 01:26:30 AM »
I am new to CNC; just purchased the Mach3, LazyCAM pro, Add-ons (Mill).
Would someone help me get started with a rectangle shape that will need
a pocket milled out of the middle (yes, I know there will not be square inside
corners). I can do the .dxf drawing, however I am missing many pieces to
connect the dots. I have viewed the basic videos, and downloaded the LazyCAM
manual (which I hope to read soon). I have attached the .dxf to this post.
Would someone be able to turn it into a .tap file letting me know how to do this:
the pocket is 1.133" x .127", then I will need a pause to secure the piece from
where the inside cut was just made (I will tap and fabricate a custom clamp); then
the outside rectangle will need to be cut which is 1.51" x .3906"; the tool is a 3/32"
end mill, with 2 cutters. I have a CNC converted HF47158, which I usually run at max
spindle speed of 4000. However, what should the Feed rate, plunge speed, max cut per/
pass, and spindle speed be? I someone would be so kind as to help me with this example
I believe that I can accomplish most all else I will want to do. Thank you in advance.

Offline AndyG

•  14 14
    • View Profile
Re: Would someone please help me get started
« Reply #1 on: May 22, 2011, 01:42:32 AM »
I forgot to specifiy the material is C260 brass (half hard), .080 in thickness.

Offline RICH

•  7,427 7,427
    • View Profile
Re: Would someone please help me get started
« Reply #2 on: May 22, 2011, 08:23:58 AM »
Quick and dirty:
You create the dxf and save it as a vesion 12 dxf. Open the dxf file in LC and then clean, now go to Pockets, define the tool,