Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
October 31, 2014, 05:35:46 AM

Login with username, password and session length
Search:     Advanced search
* Home Help Search Calendar Links Login Register
+  Machsupport Forum
|-+  G-Code, CAD, and CAM
| |-+  G-Code, CAD, and CAM discussions
| | |-+  How to match BobCAD options with Mach3 configuration
Pages: 1   Go Down
Print
Author Topic: How to match BobCAD options with Mach3 configuration  (Read 2672 times)
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
sawduststeve
Active Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 42


View Profile
« on: March 30, 2011, 07:40:53 PM »

BobCAD V21 has options for the g-code in the CAM side for g-code and are shown in the two jpg attachments. 

I am using a Gecko G540 controller/drivers.

Is there a "best" set of settings for Mach3?

What are the matching settings in Mach3 for the options in BobCAD?

Steve.


* BCC Driver General.JPG (27.31 KB, 836x573 - viewed 383 times.)

* BCC Driver ISO.JPG (30.01 KB, 836x573 - viewed 328 times.)
Logged
Graham Waterworth
Administrator
*
Online Online

Posts: 1,774


West Yorkshire, England



View Profile WWW
« Reply #1 on: March 31, 2011, 10:19:32 AM »

It looks fine to me as it is set in your pictures.

Graham
Logged

G-Code is on the cutting edge

Autovalues Engineering, CNC machining specialists, Bradford, England
sawduststeve
Active Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 42


View Profile
« Reply #2 on: March 31, 2011, 01:04:41 PM »

Graham,

I've used those BobCAD settings for several years with a different CAM software package.

What would be the matching selections in Mach3 configuration? 

Should distance mode be absolute or incremental?

Does incremental/absolute make a difference for the Wizards?

I have attached the general logic configuration, are there any changes that would match the BobCAD settings any better?

Steve.


* General Logic Configuration.JPG (129.14 KB, 985x615 - viewed 315 times.)
Logged
Graham Waterworth
Administrator
*
Online Online

Posts: 1,774


West Yorkshire, England



View Profile WWW
« Reply #3 on: March 31, 2011, 04:34:31 PM »

Distance mode in Mach3 should be set to absolute and ij mode set to inc.

Graham
Logged

G-Code is on the cutting edge

Autovalues Engineering, CNC machining specialists, Bradford, England
edcross
Active Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 6


View Profile
« Reply #4 on: April 28, 2011, 05:13:40 AM »

Steve, I am going to have the same combo as you, can you tell me what post processor you chose in Bobcad?

      Thanks

     Ed C
Logged
sawduststeve
Active Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 42


View Profile
« Reply #5 on: April 28, 2011, 09:33:24 AM »

Ed,

I use the basic one, but it is less than good.  I have to make changes in the code after the fact most of the time.  The real solution would be for me to learn how to edit the post processor, but I just don't have the time.

If you don't use the macro for "start program" then you have other problems.  If you use the macro "start program" then it inserts g-codes that cause Mach to do unusual things.

I've accepted that there aren't that many BCC/Mach combination users.

Steve.
Logged
Pages: 1   Go Up
Print
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!