Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
November 28, 2014, 11:49:00 PM

Login with username, password and session length
Search:     Advanced search
* Home Help Search Calendar Links Login Register
+  Machsupport Forum
|-+  Third party software and hardware support forums.
| |-+  Galil (Moderators: smurph, kcrouch)
| | |-+  Possible bugs in MachStandardMill or R3.043.012 when used with Galil plug-in.
Pages: 1   Go Down
Print
Author Topic: Possible bugs in MachStandardMill or R3.043.012 when used with Galil plug-in.  (Read 1330 times)
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
jj83002
Active Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 15


View Profile
« on: August 09, 2010, 11:47:30 AM »

I'm not sure how many of you are running the development version of Mach3 with MachStdMill, but there appears to be a few bugs in it.  Previously, I was running Mach3 R3.042.040 with the Galil plug-in and it worked very slick.  However, I really like the new MachStdMill screen set and thought I'd give it a try.  I found the following bugs:

1.  If I enter any command in the MDI window, it does a cycle start.  This is very scary if a program is loaded.  The program starts and the machine takes off.  I installed a clean version of MSM and R3.043.012 on another computer and it also flashes the cycle start button when a command is entered in MDI.

2.  After finding this, I made sure there was no program loaded and entered the spindle command string M3 S1500 in MDI.  This will start the spindle at the correct speed and direction, but the spindle stops after about one second.  I can manually start the spindle with the CW or CCW buttons.

3.  When I run an edge finder to verify my vice location at offset G54, Mach3 forgets its absolute position, the softlimits are no longer accurate, and it is easy to run the machine into a limit switch.

4.  One really weird problem is if I run the NewFangled linear hole pattern wizard: the X, Y, incremental, and angle input windows display unstable numbers.  I believe the other wizards function normally.

I did not find any of these problems with the standard Mach3 R3.042.040. 

Having said all the above, I think the MSM screen set is very nice and I like its logical set-up.  If I can help anyway in testing solutions to the above, please let me know.


Thanks,

Jim
Logged
smurph
Active Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 604


"That there... that's an RV."


View Profile
« Reply #1 on: August 10, 2010, 08:59:15 PM »

The Galil Plugin only follows what Mach tells it to do.  Try a profile with the old screen and R3.043.012
Logged
smurph
Active Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 604


"That there... that's an RV."


View Profile
« Reply #2 on: August 10, 2010, 09:08:25 PM »

I just checked the MDI on MSM and it does do a cycle start.  Why?  Because the cycle start button has focus and when you hit enter for the MDI command, then that act also activates cycle start.  It's a MSM bug.  

Using the same version of Mach and the old standard screen works as expected.
« Last Edit: August 10, 2010, 09:10:17 PM by smurph » Logged
battwell
Active Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 123


View Profile WWW
« Reply #3 on: August 27, 2010, 03:55:36 PM »

that was an interesting read thanks.
il leave msm for a while until the bugs are ironed out then!
by the way. thanks smurph for sorting out the reversing of extended i/o on galil pluging (im the one using all 64!)
Logged

if its not broken yet, fit more gadgets!
smurph
Active Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 604


"That there... that's an RV."


View Profile
« Reply #4 on: August 27, 2010, 04:43:28 PM »

I'm glad that got the ext. I/O working for you. 

Also, that MSM bug is gone with 043.019

Steve
Logged
Pages: 1   Go Up
Print
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!