Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
August 01, 2014, 09:25:31 PM

Login with username, password and session length
Search:     Advanced search
* Home Help Search Calendar Links Login Register
+  Machsupport Forum
|-+  Mach Discussion
| |-+  Mach Screens
| | |-+  CVI MachStdMill (MSM) (Moderator: DaveCVI)
| | | |-+  Edge Probing
Pages: « 1 2   Go Down
Print
Author Topic: Edge Probing  (Read 2930 times)
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
DaveCVI
Active Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 558



View Profile WWW
« Reply #10 on: July 22, 2010, 12:17:34 PM »

Hi,
I'm glad you like the screens so much you don't want to go back to 1024....  Smiley
(Something I learned in high school: how do you sell a puppy dog? Get a kid to take it home "on trial" overnight...)   Cool

Remember to put the geom of the edge finders into the tool table! ALL GEOMENTRY comes from the tool table.
(See manual section 12.1)

I sent you email with my direct contact info yesterday - did you get the email?
Have you replied (I don't have email form you)?
If you'd replay by direct email with your phone #, I"ll arrange a time to talk with you via phone.
I think we will need an interactive, real time conversation to sort this out for you.

Be forewarned, for debugging we'll need to set up a clean, from scratch install of mach 3.43.10 and MSM beta 2.
I know that will kill off your accessories temporarily. Once we sort out the probing operation for you (it is working fine for multiple others), the other extensions you have can get added back in one by one.

We'll get you running eventually.

Dave


« Last Edit: July 22, 2010, 12:19:24 PM by DaveCVI » Logged

Author of the MachStdMill Extensions for Mach3
www.CalypsoVentures.com
DaveCVI
Active Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 558



View Profile WWW
« Reply #11 on: July 22, 2010, 01:55:09 PM »

FYI - for those following this thread, I spoke with Tom earlier today.
He's planning on using MSM to do a job he has to get run.
(Brave man to do a real production part on beta software, I suggested that beta software should not be part of a critical path job, but he wants to use MSM).

In a couple of days when his parts are done, and schedule is more flexible, he and I will get back in touch to figure out the probing things he is seeing.

Dave
Logged

Author of the MachStdMill Extensions for Mach3
www.CalypsoVentures.com
mick
Active Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 60


View Profile
« Reply #12 on: July 25, 2010, 10:30:40 AM »

Dave,
       Played with probe for couple hours today,the only problem i found is with the x+ down and over .
       after starting  the sequence there is no z movement , the x axis moves to max x/y  then
       returns to start pos,stops with probing error.

       probing ver 0.63

mick.
Logged
mick
Active Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 60


View Profile
« Reply #13 on: July 25, 2010, 12:09:29 PM »

Dave,
       Played with probe for couple hours today,the only problem i found is with the x+ down and over .
       after starting  the sequence there is no z movement , the x axis moves to max x/y  then
       returns to start pos,stops with probing error.

       probing ver 0.63

mick.

Please ignore this post,     useing wrong probing version
Logged
DaveCVI
Active Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 558



View Profile WWW
« Reply #14 on: July 25, 2010, 01:24:26 PM »

Thanks for the report - it's nice when people let others know it's working for them.

As you figured out, that was a bug in Beta 1 which was fixed in beta 2.
Dave


Dave,
       Played with probe for couple hours today,the only problem i found is with the x+ down and over .
       after starting  the sequence there is no z movement , the x axis moves to max x/y  then
       returns to start pos,stops with probing error.

       probing ver 0.63

mick.

Please ignore this post,     useing wrong probing version

Logged

Author of the MachStdMill Extensions for Mach3
www.CalypsoVentures.com
DaveCVI
Active Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 558



View Profile WWW
« Reply #15 on: August 04, 2010, 11:52:34 AM »

Thanks to lots of work by Tom, we have identified what is happening on his system.
see
http://www.machsupport.com/forum/index.php/topic,15564.msg104401.html#msg104401
for notice of a probing bug (all versions of MSMs)

Now if we can just find the solution, we will have him probing also....

Dave

FYI - for those following this thread, I spoke with Tom earlier today.
He's planning on using MSM to do a job he has to get run.
(Brave man to do a real production part on beta software, I suggested that beta software should not be part of a critical path job, but he wants to use MSM).

In a couple of days when his parts are done, and schedule is more flexible, he and I will get back in touch to figure out the probing things he is seeing.

Dave

Logged

Author of the MachStdMill Extensions for Mach3
www.CalypsoVentures.com
Pages: « 1 2   Go Up
Print
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!