Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
July 30, 2014, 10:09:00 AM

Login with username, password and session length
Search:     Advanced search
* Home Help Search Calendar Links Login Register
+  Machsupport Forum
|-+  Third party software and hardware support forums.
| |-+  Newfangled Solutions Mach3 Wizards (Moderator: Ron Ginger)
| | |-+  Bug in Rectangle Drilling op?
Pages: 1   Go Down
Print
Author Topic: Bug in Rectangle Drilling op?  (Read 1542 times)
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
cjdavis618
Active Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 10


View Profile
« on: June 26, 2010, 02:59:50 PM »

 Huh

I was doing a simple drilling op on a plate and didn't need to cad it out. So I used Newfangled to get the holes drilled. I found that the program is not spitting out the numbers it should. I have posted below the images of my settings, and also the Gcode that it put out.

In the most sever case, it is placing + numbers when it should be using - coordinates. But I also found that if you enter a different starting coordinate than 0x 0y, that it will subtract that amount from the total movement.

I have my machined set to zero on the corner of my vise jaws as a repeatable starting point. I then told newfangled where I wanted the first hole. Please see what I wanted, and then see what I got from the wizard.


Generated code ------
(Code by Newfangled Wizard, 6/26/2010)
(Version 2.83)               <--------------   Shows wrong version in the wizard output as well. Even though the screens show the correct version.
(Program Posted for Aluminum )
G0 G49 G40.1 G17
G80 G50 G90 G98  
G20 (Inch)
(***** Rectangular Hole Pattern *****)
M6 T7
M03 S1800
M9
G00G43 H7 Z0.2
G73 X0.25 Y-0.5 Z-0.63 Q0.02 R0.05 F1.3
 X4.736 Y-0.5
 X-4.736 Y1
 X0.25 Y1

G80
M5 M9

Manually Corrected code.
(Code by Newfangled Wizard, 6/26/2010)
(Version 2.83)
(Program Posted for Aluminum )
G0 G49 G40.1 G17
G80 G50 G90 G98  
G20 (Inch)
(***** Rectangular Hole Pattern *****)
M6 T7
M03 S1800
M9
G00G43 H7 Z0.2
G73 X0.25 Y-0.5 Z-0.63 Q0.02 R0.05 F1.3
 X-4.486 Y-0.5 <---- (This line is correct for distance as is the next - The code above wasn't)
 X-4.486 Y-2  <----- (If compared above, I needed my hole to be -1.5 as entered into the wizard.)
 X0.25 Y-2   <----   Notice the difference?)

G80
M5 M9

Here are the screenshots of the entered data into the wizard.


I have been through this several times and it appears that if you enter any starting offsets in to the X and y coordinates at the beginning. The X always adds or subtracts for the locations of the drilling moves. And always causes them to be a + number, even if they are entered in as negative moves.




* Newfangled version.JPG (67.62 KB, 1280x960 - viewed 158 times.)

* speed settings.JPG (304.46 KB, 1280x960 - viewed 161 times.)

* location settings.JPG (120.49 KB, 1280x960 - viewed 156 times.)
« Last Edit: June 26, 2010, 03:03:11 PM by cjdavis618 » Logged
Ron Ginger
Active Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 785



View Profile WWW
« Reply #1 on: June 29, 2010, 06:53:24 PM »

Thanks for all the details. I will have a look at the code and see whats wrong.
Logged
Ron Ginger
Active Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 785



View Profile WWW
« Reply #2 on: July 05, 2010, 01:35:26 PM »

I ran the wizard with your inputs and I get the correct Gcode

(Code by Newfangled Wizard, 7/5/2010)
(Version 2.83)
(Program Posted for Aluminum )
G0 G49 G40.1 G17
G80 G50 G90 G98 
G20 (Inch)
(***** Rectangular Hole Pattern *****)
M6 T7
M03 S4000
M9
G00G43 H7 Z0.2
G73 X0.25 Y-0.5 Z-0.63 Q0.2 R0.05 F5.7
 X4.736 Y-0.5
 X4.736 Y1
 X0.25 Y1
G80
M5 M9
M30


Your suggestion of a -4.486 is inconsistent with the input. You have input that the lower left corner should be at X=.25
Y=-1.5 With 2 holes the other would be the Xstart value, plus the length, in this case .25+4.486 or 4.736. There is no way to have a negative value for the X coordinate with this input.

I cannot explain why your code generated by the wizard has the -4.736 value. When I ran it it did not generate that value.

Its also a bit strange to specify a  -1.5 for width.. In my view a width is always a positive number. In fact the wizard takes the absolute value of both length and width.

Sorry I cannot repeat your problem, it appears to me the wizard is working correctly.

Thanks for the note on the version number, I did forget to update that on the V2.84. I will make a note and correct it with the next version.
Logged
cjdavis618
Active Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 10


View Profile
« Reply #3 on: July 09, 2010, 04:58:36 PM »

The reason that the numbers were negative is that I was working with my axis directions. I have fixed that issue, but I still had the same issue with the output once I corrected it. I thought at first that that might have been an issue, but the axis that was correct and + still added the extra dimension.

Maybe I misunderstood, but if I start the wizard, zero at the corner of the part. (Which would be X0 and y0)

Then I want the 1st hole at y.250 x.500. I enter that into the starting hole dimension. The distance between the 2 holes shouldn't add the starting move to the 1st hole distance for that axis, right? The dimensions I entered and screens I showed were exactly what generated output that I got.


I am on vaca right now, but when I get back, I will test this again.

Thanks



Logged
cjdavis618
Active Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 10


View Profile
« Reply #4 on: July 09, 2010, 05:08:22 PM »

After re-reading your post, your saying that the first hole always needs to be x0 y0?

When I enter a length into the "Length" or "Width" box, I envision that that is a center to center distance of the hole pattern. And that nothing should add to subtract from that entry. Is that what we are supposed to see?

My plate that I drilled was 4.986" wide. I wanted to simply make drilled holes at .250 from either side of the plate in a 4 hole patern. 4.986 - .500 (Sum of 2x.250 distance) is 4.486. That is the correct number and the .250 obviously came from the +.25 from the X coordinate entry like you said. 

I o0 remember that the code created a positive number and not the negative regardless of the entry into the program, I will test that when I get back on Sunday.
Logged
Ron Ginger
Active Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 785



View Profile WWW
« Reply #5 on: July 09, 2010, 05:53:49 PM »

There is a green LED that indicates where you want the origin to be, In your example you selected the lower left corner. Then you set the the value of that point to the X and Y DROs, in this case .25, -.5

Length and width refer to an absolute measurement, length is in the X direction, Width is the Y distance.. In this case since there are only 2 holes per side, making one in each corner of a rectangle, the holes are 4.486 apart in X and 1.5 apart in Y.

You are setting 0,0 at the left edge of the stock, and .5 up from the bottom edge. That seems to me to be a strange place to zero off.

There is a manual for the wizards in the documentation area of this site that might help.
Logged
Pages: 1   Go Up
Print
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!