Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
October 21, 2014, 10:05:00 AM

Login with username, password and session length
Search:     Advanced search
* Home Help Search Calendar Links Login Register
+  Machsupport Forum
|-+  Third party software and hardware support forums.
| |-+  SmoothStepper USB (Moderator: Warp9TD)
| | |-+  DRO Issue Experts Needed ???
Pages: 1   Go Down
Print
Author Topic: DRO Issue Experts Needed ???  (Read 1587 times)
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
numbnutts
Active Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 38


View Profile
« on: June 08, 2010, 04:51:00 PM »

Hi all so I have set up my system ( smooth stepper on Wabaco f1210 mill ) and all seems to be working good except I seem to be having issues with the DRO, heres what happens,
When I zero my axis and perform my required job move I then press the "move to zero" button to repeat the procedure but about 8/10 times one of the axis usually ends up at 0.0012-0.0016 this also happens if I enter g-code, say for instance if i enter g0x100 it sometimes ( not always ) ends up at 99.988 on the DRO or something of the sort, again I watched today as I used the pocket cut wizard on Mach it should have performed 1.2mm deep cuts per pass but ended up showing 1.1988 on the DRO, this happens weather the motors are attached or not ( the control unit is from MDA precision )

Any trouble shooting tips would be great .

Many Thanks
Logged
numbnutts
Active Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 38


View Profile
« Reply #1 on: June 08, 2010, 05:35:16 PM »

Hi Forgot to mention that if I press the "move to zero" button again after the first time hits 0.0012 it will then show 0.0000,
One other Problem I noticed with my set up is that if i go to config and reverse the direction of my Z axis ( which I had to do ) and press ok it will not register, it will only work if I restart Mach 3 ?

Sorry about all the questions Sad

Thanks
Logged
Hood
Mach4 Alpha

Offline Offline

Posts: 23,673


Carnoustie, North Britain (formerly k/a Scotland)


View Profile
« Reply #2 on: June 09, 2010, 06:01:06 AM »

There is an anomaly in the plugin which gives a small error in position but it does not accumulate so it will only ever be that value out. Greg has sorted this in a test plugin but unfortunately it has introduced another small issue but Greg knows how to sort it, problem is it requires a rewrite from the ground up so its taking some time.
I wouldnt worry too much about it for the time being as it is just about 0.001mm which I dont think will affect you Wink

Out of interest what are your steps per unit?

Changing motor settings will require a restart as the info gets flashed to the SS each time Mach starts.

Hood
« Last Edit: June 09, 2010, 06:04:11 AM by Hood » Logged
numbnutts
Active Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 38


View Profile
« Reply #3 on: June 09, 2010, 03:59:15 PM »

Many thanks for the quick response Hood with regard to my steps Im using 800 per unit for XYZ and 500 for the 4th axis 
Logged
Hood
Mach4 Alpha

Offline Offline

Posts: 23,673


Carnoustie, North Britain (formerly k/a Scotland)


View Profile
« Reply #4 on: June 09, 2010, 04:08:34 PM »

That would likely explain why you are showing out by slightly more than the 0.001mm that I get, your resolution is 0.00125.
As said though its really just a visual annoyance as in real world values its insignificat but hopefully the next plugin will resolve it.

One thing I have done on my screenset  is reduce the amount of decimal places as although 4 places is fine when using Imperial measurements its really over the top for metric. If you want to do that its easy enough, you just edit the format string value of each DRO with one of the screen editors (Screen4 or Machscreen), for example the standard value would be %+.4f and you would change it to %+.3f



Hood
Logged
numbnutts
Active Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 38


View Profile
« Reply #5 on: June 09, 2010, 06:57:00 PM »

Cheers I'll give it a shot

Thanks Again 
Logged
Pages: 1   Go Up
Print
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!