Welcome, Guest. Please login or register.
Did you miss your activation email?
July 24, 2014, 10:38:49 PM

Login with username, password and session length
Search:     Advanced search
* Home Help Search Calendar Links Login Register
+  Machsupport Forum
|-+  Third party software and hardware support forums.
| |-+  Galil (Moderators: smurph, kcrouch)
| | |-+  Mach3 + Galil
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15   Go Down
Print
Author Topic: Mach3 + Galil  (Read 59816 times)
0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.
battwell
Active Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 123


View Profile WWW
« Reply #140 on: June 02, 2010, 04:16:41 AM »

but there are always cheap cards which should replace easily on ebay etc.
if the pc controller is isa look for 1740 to 1780 cards or use a newer pc
Logged

if its not broken yet, fit more gadgets!
battwell
Active Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 123


View Profile WWW
« Reply #141 on: June 02, 2010, 06:15:38 AM »

can i make a user defined G code to call a series of vb scripts?
ie. to keep old program compatability from the machine im converting which for instance uses G99 to call a vertical drilling cycle.
i can write the vb script for the cycle but can i call it with G99 or would it have to be with an M call.
Logged

if its not broken yet, fit more gadgets!
smurph
Active Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 564


"That there... that's an RV."


View Profile
« Reply #142 on: July 30, 2010, 01:11:34 AM »

M call, unfortunately. 
Logged
toomanyhobbies
Active Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 53


View Profile
« Reply #143 on: April 29, 2011, 04:20:39 PM »

I have read where you guys home to a index pulse. I am trying to understand this, I searched the forum but can't find any specific info.

Specifically where does the pulse come from and where is it connected to on the Galil ICM breakout?  Is it sent from the drives though the a/b encoder output? On my drives I know I saw a reference to a separate output for index +z/-z I think it's referred to. Do I use these? Where on the Galil ICM would I connect these? Any info would be helpful, thanks.
« Last Edit: April 29, 2011, 04:28:46 PM by toomanyhobbies » Logged
kcrouch
Active Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 194


In way too deep!!!



View Profile
« Reply #144 on: April 29, 2011, 04:53:33 PM »

The index pulse is on the encoder. Not all encoders have this feature so you need to check carefully. The index is wired into the Galil encoder I inputs.
Kenny
Logged

Having way too much fun! Something must surely be wrong.
toomanyhobbies
Active Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 53


View Profile
« Reply #145 on: April 29, 2011, 09:14:22 PM »

Kenny,

I found this in the manual for the drive. The drive has a "0" position marker pulse it outputs, but the pulse comes out on a separate terminal then the main channel a/b. As far as I can tell, the signal is not included on channel a/b. Is the Galil looking for this index pulse on the A/B channel?

BTW,  I am using SFD feedback as mentioned below.

From the Danaher S200 Drive Manual  ""The CH Z Output is only available when using SFD
Feedback. These two terminals function as a differential,
TTL marker pulse. The output pulse occurs once per
motor shaft revolution, starting at feedback device
position = 0. Its width is one line width or two quadrature
encoder widths. The CH Z uses the same differential
driver as described for CH A and CH B.""

Could this "Z Channel" be connected into the Galil? How?

Thanks
Logged
kcrouch
Active Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 194


In way too deep!!!



View Profile
« Reply #146 on: April 30, 2011, 06:28:23 AM »

Your Galil has A,B & I inputs for each axis. You would connect the channel Z outputs from your amp to the I inputs of the Galil. If using differential inputs, just wire Z+ to I+ and Z- to I-. I am using Yaskawa drives here and they work the same. It is nice to shut the machine down and come back the next day, home the machine and everything is within .0002 of where I left it.
Kenny.
Logged

Having way too much fun! Something must surely be wrong.
toomanyhobbies
Active Member

Offline Offline

Posts: 53


View Profile
« Reply #147 on: April 30, 2011, 08:18:03 AM »

Aha, index input for each axis, that's what I missed! It makes sense now.

Thanks Kenny.
Logged
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15   Go Up
Print
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2013, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!