Machsupport Forum

Mach Discussion => Mach SDK plugin questions and answers. => Topic started by: Hellhound on June 15, 2010, 09:21:55 AM

Title: Giffin Powermate resurection.
Post by: Hellhound on June 15, 2010, 09:21:55 AM
I purchased a powermate before I read the posts of the plug-in being broken. However, since I had the device, I decided it was a good time to get back into programming and also to try my hand at the Mach SDK. I decided to start from scratch with a new plug-in.

I have written a driver for the device using another project as a template that I located on the web. I have the device working in a test app and movement simulated by progress bars using C and I am now ready to move it into a plug-in enviornment.

I have decided to have the following functions:
Pressing the button down with a quick release cycles the axis.
Rotating the knob jogs the selected axis.
Pushing the knob down and rotating adjusts the Jog%.
The LED will pulse at the jog % rate. i.e.- faster if moving faster.

The question I have is what would be the best way to jog the axis based on the knob rotation? Do I read the DRO and save as the start point, take the knob input, add it to the start point and store it as the end point, then jogon until Mach's DRO reaches the value of my end point variable? At this point simple issue a Jogoff? Is there a better way? Let me know.
Title: Re: Giffin Powermate resurection.
Post by: Hellhound on June 21, 2010, 05:17:49 PM
No one has an opinion?  ???
Title: Re: Giffin Powermate resurection.
Post by: RadiantHeat on October 18, 2010, 11:10:54 AM
I don't have an Opinion, except its great that you did what you did. I have a powermate, and i would be delighted if you posted a way for me to use it again.
Title: Re: Giffin Powermate resurection.
Post by: johnjsb on December 06, 2010, 05:23:15 PM
Awesome I too have one. I can't wait, was not looking forward to buying a proper MPG.
Title: Re: Giffin Powermate resurection.
Post by: EricSites on March 05, 2011, 04:20:47 AM
Any progress on this?

I just purchased one without reading the forum posts also.

I am also a programmer and can give you some help if needed.

Cheers,
Eric Sites
Title: Re: Giffin Powermate resurection.
Post by: earlb on June 27, 2011, 01:38:18 PM
I also have a PowerMate and would like to use it with my CNC router.
Title: Re: Giffin Powermate resurection.
Post by: Tweakie.CNC on June 28, 2011, 07:11:13 AM
The Powermate is an excellent product and I am really surprised that someone has not already written another plugin that works with the latest versions of Mach3. I am also saddened by those who produce solutions, post the results of their brilliance but then refuse to share the details (perhaps they are just telling porkies and don't want to be found out).
I would not know where to start, but for you programmers out there there is quite a lot of info on creating plugins when you start looking  http://www.machsupport.com/forum/index.php/topic,7922.0.html  go on - give it a try but PLEASE, PLEASE share your success with the other members of the forum.

Tweakie.
Title: Re: Giffin Powermate resurection.
Post by: newmacher on July 30, 2011, 04:19:42 PM
Ok guys, I was someone who didn't read the forum before purchasing a power mate, so hooked it up and realized the plugin was old.  Difference was, that I'm a programmer, so I downloaded the plugin wizard, and coded a plugin for it.  It's pretty simplistic, but it works.

I requires the .net framework version 3.5 since it was done using the plugin wizard, and if you don't have that or don't install that, then Mach 3 will tell you that your plugin is damaged.  Anyway, here is the dll.

Hope it works well for everyone.  It basically just steps the axis by .001, and I haven't tried it with millimeters, so let me know how well or badly that works.  Clicking it changes axis just like the other broken plugin, but since nothing else on the other plugin worked for me, I don't know what else it did.

I know this is raw, but if people like it, I can probably find time to make it better.

http://www.corvettediy.com/powermate/GriffinPowerMatePluginV5.dll (http://www.corvettediy.com/powermate/GriffinPowerMatePluginV5.dll)
Title: Re: Giffin Powermate resurection.
Post by: Tweakie.CNC on July 31, 2011, 01:39:26 AM
newmacher,

Thank you for sharing the information and DLL.

Tweakie.
Title: Re: Giffin Powermate resurection.
Post by: newmacher on July 31, 2011, 11:34:32 AM
Thanks Tweakie, glad to help. 

One other thing I found while building the Griffin Plugin was that I couldn't build a plugin dll with Visual Studio 2010 Pro and then get it to run under Mach3.  I had both the .net framework version 4, and version 3.5 installed on my test box, and made sure I had compiled the dll as release dll instead of debug, but Mach3 still said it was a defective plugin.  I finally dropped back and built it with studio 2008 Pro, which works fine, and that is why my plugin has  the .net framework 3.5 dependency.

I'm wondering if anyone else has had experience using studio 2010 for plugin development, and might know what I was doing wrong.
Title: Re: Giffin Powermate resurection.
Post by: newmacher on August 02, 2011, 07:28:49 PM
Well, I spruced up the new Griffin PowerMate plugin today.  I added some configuration settings so you can turn off axis's you aren't using and so that you can change your increment per pulse, and feed rate.  Seems to work pretty well.  Same link as before, but now it is version 5.0.1

Let me know how it works.

http://www.corvettediy.com/powermate/GriffinPowerMatePluginV5.dll (http://www.corvettediy.com/powermate/GriffinPowerMatePluginV5.dll)
Title: Re: Giffin Powermate resurection.
Post by: jarekk on August 16, 2011, 02:51:41 AM
Well I use 2010 Express and no problems at all. Even after adding ATL support from DDK.
Title: Re: Giffin Powermate resurection.
Post by: newmacher on August 31, 2011, 03:28:16 PM
Well, I found a problem with my plugin.  It's an annoyance.  If the Griffin Powermate is plugged in, and I try to open the config menu, the griffin is blocking the menu.  I have to click the Griffin in order to have the menu pop up.  I hope I don't have to spawn a thread to read from the Griffin.  Anyone else have this solved?
Title: Re: Giffin Powermate resurection.
Post by: al13 on November 23, 2011, 09:59:18 PM
Hi

Any word on the final verdict of using Griffin Powermate with Mach3?
Is it worth for me to buy one for use with the mill (I:E will it work?)

Thank you.

Title: Re: Giffin Powermate resurection.
Post by: sagreen83 on March 31, 2012, 04:53:56 PM
I purchased a powermate before I read the posts of the plug-in being broken. However, since I had the device, I decided it was a good time to get back into programming and also to try my hand at the Mach SDK. I decided to start from scratch with a new plug-in.

I have written a driver for the device using another project as a template that I located on the web. I have the device working in a test app and movement simulated by progress bars using C and I am now ready to move it into a plug-in enviornment.

I have decided to have the following functions:
Pressing the button down with a quick release cycles the axis.
Rotating the knob jogs the selected axis.
Pushing the knob down and rotating adjusts the Jog%.
The LED will pulse at the jog % rate. i.e.- faster if moving faster.

The question I have is what would be the best way to jog the axis based on the knob rotation? Do I read the DRO and save as the start point, take the knob input, add it to the start point and store it as the end point, then jogon until Mach's DRO reaches the value of my end point variable? At this point simple issue a Jogoff? Is there a better way? Let me know.

Is anyone using this plugin successfuly with their powermate? if so how do you config everything to get it to work? mine is not working and the DLL is enabled in config/plugins

Thanks,
Scott...
Title: Re: Giffin Powermate resurection.
Post by: veetek on October 18, 2012, 11:46:45 AM
Hi ,

Does anyone still have that v5 plugin anywhere ?

the link above seems to be dead.  


Do you guys possibly know if that plugin will work with mach3 Version R3.043.066 ?
Thank you,

Veetek